We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$196
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Expedia.com
US$142
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$142
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official SiteUS$141
PricelineUS$196
TripadvisorUS$142
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,278)
Filter reviews
3,278 results
Traveller rating
2,165
775
207
77
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,165
775
207
77
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pearl great location powell's books continental breakfast whole foods wine reception underground parking walking distance older hotel two blocks full kitchen living room public transportation front desk staff would definitely stay here again visit portland bed was very comfortable
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 3,278 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2022

Imagine you're going to Portland and your main goal is to visit a bunch of sights, see things, and not have to drive very far to go there. How much will you care about your hotel having an enormous two person shower jacuzzi with personal masseuse and full kitchen at the end of the day?

If the answer is, "I don't think I'd notice that much" then Mark Spencer Hotel is the place for you. The rooms are expensive for what you get but the location is perfect. 1-2 blocks from Powell's, within walking distance to great restaurants, close to Target and Wholefoods if you've forgotten something. For the location and convenience, this would get a 5 star review.

Parking was good. Staff overall were average to below average on our trip. We parked in the parking garage when we first arrived, which apparently you are not supposed to do. The staff spent way too much time focused on this over issuing a parking permit, despite my having called ahead and confirmed with one of the staff members that parking was available and never once being told that I needed to park in the waiting zone at the front and checking in at the front desk first. The confirmation email only states, "Self parking available for additional fee with in and out privilege." Additionally all booking was done through their website, so they had total control over the guest experience.

The room itself was a 4 star room. The bathroom had some minor damage on the inside that was... ok, but didn't affect functionality too much (water damage on the pocket door causing it to swell, baseboard damage, toilet flusher was very loosely attached). The bed had some stains on the bedding that made me wonder about whether it was clean or not, especially since we were warned Housekeeping was not replacing sheets every day of our stay. We found trash from the previous occupants of the room that had not been cleaned up. The rest of it though? Great. There were USB power outlets on the left side, two TV's, the bed was huge and soft, and enough bedding and pillows to be comfortable with well functioning air conditioning. We were in one of the king suites, room 608.

Would I stay at Mark Spencer again? A tough call. I would probably be searching around first and this would be my second or third choice. But I would actually stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SneakyDingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2022

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our convenient location, but we are disappointed to learn that we did not live up to our standards in regard to our accommodations. We strive to go above and beyond to make every stay exceptional and apologize for the issues you found with your room. These things are unacceptable, and we will immediately address them with our maintenance and housekeeping teams. We undoubtedly fell short during your visit, and we will use your comments to ensure we continue to improve in each of these areas. We hope to have the chance to change your lasting impression.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2022

We chose this fine hotel because of its central location in Portland. The hotel had nice and clean rooms and very friendly service from the staff. The small cafe had a very narrow menu. But maybe it's because the guests use the other breakfast restaurants in the area?

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lars K. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

Lars,
Thank you for the excellent rating of your recent stay at Mark Spencer Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us and our clean accommodations, convenient downtown location, and friendly staff. Your comments are appreciated as we continually work to improve the menu selections in the Spencer Cafe. Please allow us to host you again when you return to Portland. Familiar faces are a welcome sight, so come back soon!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2022

The Mark Spencer is a beautiful hotel with a very Portland vibe located in the heart of Portland. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The room was luxurious and quiet, with excellent climate control (we stayed during an historic heat wave, unfortunately). We were steps away from coffee shops, dining, and Powell's City of Books. There is no daily housekeeping service as they recover from the pandemic, so if that is important to you you will want to check on that. They were happy to switch out towels for us. I can't imagine a nicer place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2022

Cynthia,
We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our wonderful location and that you had a great time exploring Portland. It is also fantastic to hear that our climate-controlled rooms were able to keep you cool throughout the heatwave. Join us again the next time you want another five-star stay in the city!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2022

The hotel is in a handy location in Downtown. Rooms are large and clean. The main thing though were the staff. As a brit we are also told of the friendliness of people but these guys were outstanding also courteous and willing to help. You will more boutique or higher end hotels for sure but this place has super decent humans working there. Will defo go again.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Leithy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2022

It's delightful to hear that everything from our wonderful location to our friendly team members impressed you at Mark Spencer Hotel. It would be a pleasure to host you again the next time you come to the area, so please, hurry back!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2022

Our room was great. We got the executive king suite. It was roomy and super comfortable. The shower was a little too modern for us but was still great. Would definitely recommend this hotel based on price and location in Portland. A lot of things were walking distance which is always a plus!

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank richy1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2022

Richy,
Your kind words mean the world to us, and we're happy that our comfortable accommodations were perfect for your needs. Thank you so much for the recommendation, and we hope to see you again at Mark Spencer Hotel at some point in the future.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews