We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$161
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/12/22
Expedia.com
US$116
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/12/22
Priceline
US$161
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official SiteUS$116
Hotels.comUS$116
TravelocityUS$116
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,274)
Filter reviews
3,274 results
Traveller rating
2,164
772
207
77
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,164
772
207
77
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pearl great location powell's books continental breakfast whole foods wine reception underground parking walking distance older hotel two blocks full kitchen living room public transportation front desk staff would definitely stay here again visit portland bed was very comfortable
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 3,274 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2022

We chose this fine hotel because of its central location in Portland. The hotel had nice and clean rooms and very friendly service from the staff. The small cafe had a very narrow menu. But maybe it's because the guests use the other breakfast restaurants in the area?

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lars K. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

Lars,
Thank you for the excellent rating of your recent stay at Mark Spencer Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us and our clean accommodations, convenient downtown location, and friendly staff. Your comments are appreciated as we continually work to improve the menu selections in the Spencer Cafe. Please allow us to host you again when you return to Portland. Familiar faces are a welcome sight, so come back soon!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2022

The Mark Spencer is a beautiful hotel with a very Portland vibe located in the heart of Portland. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The room was luxurious and quiet, with excellent climate control (we stayed during an historic heat wave, unfortunately). We were steps away from coffee shops, dining, and Powell's City of Books. There is no daily housekeeping service as they recover from the pandemic, so if that is important to you you will want to check on that. They were happy to switch out towels for us. I can't imagine a nicer place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2022

Cynthia,
We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our wonderful location and that you had a great time exploring Portland. It is also fantastic to hear that our climate-controlled rooms were able to keep you cool throughout the heatwave. Join us again the next time you want another five-star stay in the city!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2022

The hotel is in a handy location in Downtown. Rooms are large and clean. The main thing though were the staff. As a brit we are also told of the friendliness of people but these guys were outstanding also courteous and willing to help. You will more boutique or higher end hotels for sure but this place has super decent humans working there. Will defo go again.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Leithy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2022

It's delightful to hear that everything from our wonderful location to our friendly team members impressed you at Mark Spencer Hotel. It would be a pleasure to host you again the next time you come to the area, so please, hurry back!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2022

Our room was great. We got the executive king suite. It was roomy and super comfortable. The shower was a little too modern for us but was still great. Would definitely recommend this hotel based on price and location in Portland. A lot of things were walking distance which is always a plus!

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank richy1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2022

Richy,
Your kind words mean the world to us, and we're happy that our comfortable accommodations were perfect for your needs. Thank you so much for the recommendation, and we hope to see you again at Mark Spencer Hotel at some point in the future.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2022

This hotel was wonderful! The check in and out was fast and hassle free. Lovely rooftop bar with city views. Room was large with a kitchen - that came in handy. Plus the location was perfect for us - within walking distance of many restaurants and coffee shops, plus Powell’s Books…and for sites further out, the street car goes right by hotel and it’s easy, safe, and cheap to ride. Our favorite nearby places were Bamboo Sushi and Never Coffee! Also my daughter (18) was in heaven shopping at Buffalo Exchange which is across the street. We were on the 4th floor and I was worried about the room not being cool enough during the recent 100 degree unusual heat for Portland, but to my surprise, the air conditioning worked great. If we ever get back to Portland, I will stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 843tricias
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2022

Wow! This is just a great review! Thank you for all the compliments! With all the hard work we put in, it's comments like these that make it all worth it! Thank you so much, and we can't wait to see you again at Mark Spencer Hotel!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews