We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, accomodating staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Just stayed at RiverPlace for the first time, two nights. Very accommodating, friendly staff. Wine hour is a nice touch. Room was very nice. Did not upgrade to river view, but city view overlooks park and was fine. Room was very nice, clean, bed very comfortable, quiet at night. Staff turn down sheets while you're out and leave truffles, nice touch.
We are very active and very much appreciated the bikes the hotel have on staff available for use. We rode around the riverfront, stopped at outdoor market (would have gone for a longer ride if we had more time!). Hotel is just a short walk from light rail lines which took us everywhere we wanted to go, except Pittock mansion and we were able to hop on a bus to get us close to that. We stayed two nights and were on the go the entire time, didn't have time to eat at the restaurant, but it looked inviting...next time.
Only downside is no in-hotel pool or workout faciilties, but they loan out yoga kits and you are given "user's rights" to gym down the street. Very lovely hotel, staff and wonderful experience. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Our room was 3rd floor, facing City. Very quiet, peaceful!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poiputourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Wow, sounds like you got a lot done in your short trip. We just love the adventurous traveler, glad that you got to use our bikes. Let’s set you up with a Kayak tour the next time you are in town. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,735)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,302 - 1,306 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

RiverPlace is my preferred lodging choice in downtown Portland. I stayed again this weekend. It was my first trip since the hotel changed ownership. Very happy it is still wonderful, perhaps even better than before.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Happy to hear that the changes have been nothing but positive. We appreciate your continued loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I've stayed at the RiverPlace several times now. When the weather is nice, it's hard to beat the views from the hotel suites and condos, but even when it is rainy, this hotel feels cozy and warm. The ambiance is welcoming and relaxing and the staff is outstanding. The banana nut pancakes at the Three Degrees restaurant are fantastic and room service is quick as well as reasonably priced. If you like music, then this is the best hotel to stay at during the Blues Festival as well as other waterfront events like The Bite. I look forward to my next trip to Portland and another pleasant stay at the RiverPlace!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank amgnmarkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

We couldn’t agree more, no matter the weather the RiverPlace is the place to stay. With all that being said…we prefer the sunshine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We happened to be biking and came across the RiverPlace Hotel. What an amazing find. Every staff member was friendly, professional and made or stay amazing. Our suite was beautiful and meticulously maintained. The complimentary hour in the lobby is first class. The location along the river and access to the bike trails was perfect! We have found our new home away from home.

Jan S

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

So glad to hear that the bike paths lead you straight to your new home away from home. We can’t wait for some sunshine to get out there and ride ourselves. We currently provide 5 bikes that are free rentals for our guest to enjoy and kid bikes are on their way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

One of the best hotels, if not the BEST hotel we have ever stayed in and we stay in about 60 hotel rooms a year. This is one of only a few hotels that everyone knew our names and called us Mr & Mrs. from the front desk to the bell man to the restaurant to the front door man. By the way the restaurant is great. We stay and like other Kimpton hotels but the RiverPlace is the best Kimpton of all we have stayed in. We go to Portland at least twice a year and will now only stay at the RiverPlace. Also this is a beautiful hotel at a great location.
J & J

Room Tip: We had a large king bed room overlooking the river and loved it.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PalmDesertJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Wow! Cheers to a great review! (I couldn’t resist)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,391 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 144 in Portland
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: €188 - €384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing