We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, Peaceful & cozy”
other travellers have booked this property
Your kitchen door, the picture window overlooking the north porch.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your kitchen door, the picture window overlooking the north porch.
Welcome!  The stairs to your door are on the left. The vintage kitchen is easy to use.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Your kitchen door, the picture window overlooking the north porch.
Welcome!  The stairs to your door are on the left.
The vintage kitchen is easy to use.
The dining room table, the heart of the home.
It is comfy, casual. Real and bright.
The Rosie Room bed is wider than a double.
The Rosie Room has it's own door and porch.
The Captain's Bed is wider and longer than a twin.  Kids and friends like to sleep head to toe.
The double shower bathroom has a heated pebble floor
The hot tub beneath the timber bamboo.
Gate of clay at the threshold to the terraces.
Sculptural surprizes will find you
Places to sit alone or together
The Ladder between Heaven and Earth made from a fallen fir tree.
meandering paths meander here.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Portland, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie J
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful & cozy”
Reviewed 29 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We LOVED staying here! The house is warm, inviting and has plenty of room. The surrounding grounds are BEAUTIFUL!! My son loved wandering around the grounds, finding hidden treasures everywhere... & he loved the outdoor ho tub!! Lush gardens, interesting paths and beautiful tress/plants everywhere. We slept in the Captains Room & found it very comfortable. The room is warm, cozy & inviting & the bed was very comfortable. The house has all the amenities you would need & easy to get to. The owners could not be more lovely. I highly recommend a stay here!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy K
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
1 review
“Lovely and unique Accomodations”
Reviewed 29 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We spent two wonderful nights here. It was very comfortable for four adults and a couple of kids. It is so serene, peaceful and beautiful. You could wander the grounds all day and always see something that you did not see before. The owners are very special hosts who make sure your every need is met. A truly enjoyable experience. Thank you

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay P
Santa Monica, California
1 review
“Idyllic, cozy cottage in a lush garden”
Reviewed 3 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

How did I get so lucky as to choose this special property for a family vacation.
My Granddaughter chose Portland but somehow I found the perfect rental for our stay. Well, serendipity is one of my favorite words, We began and ended our days in this cottage that vibrates with warmth.. The cottage reflects the owner's eclectic personal taste and is a treat for the eye. There were four of us and we each seemed to find our own personal space. There are two bedrooms and a pull out queen sofa bed in the living room. My granddaughter chose the bed in a window and found it just right for her. The kitchen is fully equipped and there was coffee, bread, fruit and much more in the refrigerator and cupboards.

We all agreed that we were in a special place and wanted to stay longer. My daughter-in-law said we had found some enchanted cottage. My only regret is that we were unable to meet the owners as they were out of town during our visit . I can only imagine how welcoming and unique they are to have created this refuge of tranquility.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2018
Oh Thank You for your very kind words Jan! I too regret not having had the chance to meet you. I'm so happy that it all worked well for a fun and comfortable family reunion. Oh, when Jake got back he said you win the prize for lightest footprint ever! All the best, Come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarAndAwa...
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Friendliest Place in Portland”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If we could rate Farmhouse Cottage higher than 5/5, we would! It has a beautiful character and feel to the cottage, and the garden setting is superb. The beds were quirky, but comfortable, and exactly as described. Everything to make you feel at home has been supplied, including coffee and condiments.
The house is in a very quiet treed neighbourhood, with a small forest to walk in at the end of the road, and a gourmet supermarket to shop in just a few streets away.
But it is the owners that really made our visit memorable. We were visiting Oregon from Australia to view the total solar eclipse, and were unsure exactly where to best view it from. Sally and Jake very kindly invited us to join their family and friends at Schreiner's Iris Gardens, near Salem. They were so hospitable and inclusive of us, and made an amazing event even more amazing and enjoyable. Thank you so much from all of our family for giving us such happy memories of our visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Oh thank you Ulrike for your kind words, we're so glad to have had that special time with you all. Happy trails as your adventures continue! S & J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRank18
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage Hideaway”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My family enjoyed 4 nights at this lovely cottage, it is under the main house but feels completely private and surrounded by a nice garden and abundant trees. It was pretty ideal to be in a quiet neighborhood but also very short drive to downtown (about 10 minutes) and other areas of Portland, we loved coming back to our retreat after a day in the city. Our hosts were very nice and helpful, and we especially liked our visits with Joe the dog! Hope to return someday soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing