We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel ”

McMenamins Kennedy School
Ranked #1 of 215 Nightlife in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

This old school is made into a quirky hotel. Its like being in a fantasy world. The style is somewhere between art deco and fairytale. The room very small with a wash basin in the room, and seperate toilet and shower. Although there are lots of fancy lamps the light is Very poor, both at the bed and at the mirror. The bed is decent, but why not have duvets?

1  Thank Niels Holst T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"boiler room"
in 23 reviews
"soaking pool"
in 22 reviews
"courtyard restaurant"
in 5 reviews
"tater tots"
in 5 reviews
"cypress room"
in 4 reviews
"english wing"
in 3 reviews
"pitcher of beer"
in 2 reviews
"detention bar"
in 2 reviews
"hotel entertainment"
in 2 reviews
"hotel portion"
in 2 reviews
"micro beers"
in 2 reviews
"fascinating place"
in 2 reviews
"classroom"
in 19 reviews
"movie"
in 34 reviews
"artwork"
in 8 reviews
"neighborhood"
in 10 reviews
"preservation"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

We planned a family get together over a mid morning breakfast. The atmosphere was conducive to relaxation -- the staff were VERY efficient and friendly and certainly knew the ins and outs of the extensive menu. What started out as a quick chat and breakfast turned into a very relaxing two plus hour visit. -- What more could any family want -- Good food, tremendous service AND no pressure to get moving. In addition -- we were VERY impressed by the conversion and use of the old school. The McMenamin family deserve medals for what they have done to protect and preserve the school buildings. Visit the building. I bet you will stay to eat in one of the dining rooms.

Thank Jola25161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M J, General Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you, Thank you! What a wonderful compliment, we will be sure to share your feedback with our team.
We hope to see you again.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We recently ate at McMenamins on a busy Friday night. The day before I had called the restaurant to see if they took reservations; I was told they did not but that if I arrived around 6:30 we should not have a problem getting a table. When we showed up on a Friday at 6:30, we requested outside seating and were told it would be about 20 minutes to a half hour. We then went to the Cypress Room and had drinks which were very good. After a half hour, we checked back in with the hostess who said there still was not an available table outside and she did not know when a table would become available or where we were on the list. Needless to say, we then opted for a table inside. It was loud, too loud, and the food was average. We had tater tots which were good but the veggie burger was sub par and the flat iron steak was tough.

I recommend this place for drinks, hors d'oeuvres and lunch only as other people at our table enjoyed their sandwiches.

Thank EleanoreE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M J, General Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that there were difficulties with getting a table and an accurate wait time. We will address these issues with our team.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Not your ordinary hotel accommodation by any means! We did not stay here, but ventured over to look at the unique building and to enjoy some drinks and nibbles. What fun! Everyone seemed truly happy - whether a guest, a visitor or an employee! Looks like a fun place to work! Definitely off of the beaten path, tucked away in a residential neighborhood. Definitely worth a visit!

Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M J, General Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you again.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Seated in the shade of an umbrella in the courtyard, we had a delightful dinner with fun and attentive service. This is a quirky restaurant/hotel/entertainment venue, and should we visit again it's a strong consideration for lodging. There's easy parking in the back and rambling hallways with tucked in specialty bars and entertainment spaces. For dinner we enjoyed crispy Cajun flavored tots, yummy lobster Mac n cheese, and fillet minion prepared to order. Check out the monkey punch cocktail, which is a refreshing and tart libation.

Thank WAOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M J, General Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and meal.
We hope to see you again.
Cheers!
Mel Jensen
General Manager
McMenamins Kennedy School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McMenamins Kennedy School also viewed

 

Been to McMenamins Kennedy School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing