We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, restaurant, bars and art in one old school.”

McMenamins Kennedy School
Reviewed 3 May 2017

My friend brought me here to see this colorful and eclectic old school. This point of interest surprised me with how I wanted to see it all. The very open and well decorated restaurant is colorful, full of plants and natural light. There are beds to sleep in, lounges to drink in, tubs to soak in, theaters to watch movies in and a feeling of being a part of history. I appreciated the notes to Lois that are a part of an art installation decorating the halls of this old school. The pictures of the kids are to be regarded. Family of all ages enjoy this interesting and memorable place.

Thank Marie-Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

We are so glad you got to enjoy a full tour of the building. I agree the notes to Lois is one of my favorite pieces but so subtle that I believe they are often missed. We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers!
Mel Jensen
Principal
McMenamins Kennedy School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"room bar"
in 6 reviews
"tater tots"
in 6 reviews
"courtyard restaurant"
in 5 reviews
"cypress room"
in 4 reviews
"english wing"
in 3 reviews
"pitcher of beer"
in 2 reviews
"detention bar"
in 2 reviews
"hotel entertainment"
in 2 reviews
"hotel portion"
in 2 reviews
"movie tickets"
in 2 reviews
"fascinating place"
in 2 reviews
"unique experience"
in 4 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 2 reviews
"boiler"
in 25 reviews
"artwork"
in 8 reviews
"flick"
in 3 reviews
"auditorium"
in 6 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Always something for everyone. I had a great hamburger and fries but my husband's salad was great. If you try the specials, you will not be disappointed. Service is great. This is an all round perfect choice for a family

Thank inequity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We will make sure to share your comments with our chef.
Cheers,
Mel Jensen
Principal
McMenamins Kennedy School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

this review is for the hotel portion of kennedy school... we always enjoy staying here! reasonable rates, and fun to be able to walk over to a pub or the soaking pool. weve stayed in the old classrooms as well as the newer english portion. nice rooms, great atmosphere!

1  Thank Gabrandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stays at the Kennedy School. We look forward to seeing you again.
Cheers,
Mel Jensen
Principal
McMenamins Kennedy School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

If you’re in, around, or just kind of near Portland, the McMenamins Kennedy School is an absolute must-visit. It doesn’t even really matter what you’re looking for – movies, music, a nice meal out, or even just a pleasant stroll through an interesting area, they’ve got all your options in one sprawling, glorious place.

As you walk through old school hallways covered in paintings, mosaics and pieces of nostalgia, done up the way a mix of cynical eight-year-olds and fun-loving grandparents might have done, the love that went into creating this place is obvious everywhere you look. There is just the right mix of respect for the past and poking fun at it at the same time. Think of it as historical preservation with a twist – probably of lime.

We were lucky to stumble upon this place when friends recommended visiting here just for dinner; we were delighted to find it was far more than just an offbeat restaurant, and wish we’d had more time to explore it fully. As it was, we enjoyed our meal, poked our heads into a couple of the bars, listened to a band in mid-performance, looked longingly at the hot tub and laughed thoroughly at the poems on the walls. We’ll definitely be back to deepen our appreciation of this Portland treasure.

Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Cuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you found the "Dear Lois" poems hidden in some beautiful mosaics around the school. These poems were written in a school annual by fellow students in the mid 1930's. A lot of people miss these gems and we are so glad to hear you found them. We hope to see you again in the future.
Cheers,
Mel Jensen
Principal
McMenamins Kennedy School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2016

This attraction was one of the coolest places I've stumbled upon while traveling the US cities. It's an old school that they preserved that serves as an accommodation (hotel stay, limited rooms), 6 bars, a movie theater, and an attraction. The hallways are super cool to walk through and look at pictures from the past and read about the history of the school. They did a fantastic job preserving the halls and it still has that look and feel of a school - when we went on the weekend they were holding a market within the gym and it was awesome to meet, greet and purchase from local vendors!

Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2016

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon!
Cheers,
Mel Jensen
Principal
McMenamins Kennedy School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McMenamins Kennedy School also viewed

 

Been to McMenamins Kennedy School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing