We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimate haven for serious foodies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paley's Place

Paley's Place
Reserve with OpenTable
Paley's Place is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Northwest District
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Intimate haven for serious foodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This a beautiful little restaurant is a welcome home for serious foodies, with an excellent wine list and very knowledgable and attentive servers. The atmosphere is quiet and calm, without being stuffy or intimidating. Our eight-year-old daughter was well attended to, and given a long and careful explanation of all the cheeses on the magnificent cheese plate -- attention that we genuinely appreciate, as it encourages her love of good food, and made us feel welcome. Special requests were accepted gracefully, and we felt that our server wanted to understand our interests and not just serve us. The food was nicely presented without being overly sculpted, as some trendy restaurants tend to do. We will certainly return here whenever we return to Portland.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caprietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    70
    39
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Special occasion restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

exceptional food and service for special occasions; very intimate in size with excellent wine list. Reservations needed in advance but worth waiting for.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank rstansel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yum, but pricey and packed all the time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This restaurant gets excellent reviews - so we had to try it. Over the past couple years, we have dined at Paley's Place probably five times. The food is always very very good, as everyone says. But because of the popularity of the restaurant, reservations are a must. But just because you have a reservation, be aware that you may still have to wait up to 30 minutes for your table; and you may be seated in the back corner of the restaurant (where the ambiance is not nearly as nice as the front dining room or bar area). Each time we go, we feel like the host eyes us up and down and assesses where she will seat us. Doesn't feel good, but the food never disappoints.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank GusClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“French done right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Mr. Paley is not French but his restaurant is to kill for. When you're there don't forget the desert menu. The chef is amazing!

Helpful?
Thank cantahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Slipping big time!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We recently visited one of our favorite restaurants on the West Coast, Paley's Place in Portland. What a disappointment. Our starters were just ok. Both of our steaks were over salted. Seriously? I meant this restaurant has rocked in the past, now they overseason a very basic dish? My fruit crisp for dessert was heavenly (and the only dish preventing me from putting two stars) and my husband's creme brûlée was thin and watery. Yikes! Chef Paley, I am thrilled you won Iron Chef America last year, but you need to pay some more attention to your restaurant. It has slipped big time! And we won't be back until we see some seriously glowing reviews....

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paley's Place also viewed

 

Been to Paley's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing