We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Breakfast”
Review of Red Star Tavern

Red Star Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Star Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #129 of 4,867 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th Ave.
Transit: Transit stop directly in front of the restaurant on SW 5th and Alder
Description: Red Star Tavern has true tavern character and tasty food. Experience the timeless tradition of a true tavern in downtown Portland.
Reviewed 9 February 2018

While staying in downtown Portland recently, we got up on a Saturday morning. After a quick check online to see what was within walking distance of our hotel, we landed on a few places. Of the three we selected, two had 40-minute waits and one was seating immediately. Not sure that's always a good sign, we took a chance on immediate seating and walked a few blocks to Red Star Tavern.

The restaurant is spacious, with high ceilings and some art-deco touches. Inside it was warm and cozy, the host greeted us and showed us immediately to window booth. Waters showed up right behind her, followed by the waitress (Janna) who inquired about coffee, which we ordered. She was back quickly with coffee and to take our orders.

Our breakfast came out within 10ish minutes and was delicious. My spouse got the 2-Egg Breakfast with Bacon. I ordered the buttermilk pancakes, with a side of Bacon. If you like bacon, order it here - big thick slabs of perfectly cooked bacon are hard to find; but Red Star does it right.

Janna never let our coffee cups go empty and checked on us a few times during or meal. All in all, a tasty breakfast WITHOUT a 45 minute wait on a Saturday morning. We'd definitely go back.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh G, Manager at Red Star Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thanks so much KC for the amazing review of your recent experience here at Red Star Tavern! I'm thrilled to hear that Janna, as well as our other staff, and the food all made such an impactful impression. And I can truly agree that our bacon is absolutely perfect!
We greatly look forward to your return next time that you are in town :)
-Ashleigh Gall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2018

Stopped by on the way home as the bus stop is just outside their door. Enjoyed a burger (great fries and ketchup), Caesar salad and home made ice cream. Excellent food, terrific service from the moment we stepped through the door to the great server, Jen.

We will make it a habit to stop in again and again. Thanks to all

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elgreco251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh G, Manager at Red Star Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stop in to Red Star Tavern. I'm thrilled to hear that Jen was able to provide you with superb service as well as some amazing food from our kitchen. I will make sure to pass along your kind words to them on their job well done!
Thanks again and we greatly look forward to serving you again in the future.
-Ashleigh Gall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

We stopped in for lunch while we were shopping in down-town Portland, and were so pleased with our experience. The staff was professional and efficient but left us alone to chat and sit by the window and watch the world go by. The food was great and just the right amount- we left just full enough and didn't need a 'doggie bag.' We plan to return when we get the chance to go down town again.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AcornOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh G, Manager at Red Star Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you for the admiration! We are grateful to have guests such as yourself and I will pass along your kind words to our service staff and the kitchen on their job well done! We hope to serve you again next time you're in the area.
-Ashleigh Gall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Visited the Red Star Tavern for happy hour on a Saturday night while staying at the adjoining hotel for a quick weekend trip out of town.

When entering from the hotel, here is no hostess stand, but instead a stand saying to head down a ramp and across the restaurant to a hostess stand. This means walking through the entire space before making it to the other side of the restaurant.

The staff is friendly, but dressed in no consistent way that makes them easily identifiable to patrons. We were quickly seated but were not given menus. We snagged one off a ledge, and were greeted by our server. Drink orders were taken, around with happy hour items (cheese plate and Sriracha and honey chicken wings).

The Moscow mule was well made, and tasty. The food arrived, and while the portion sizes were consistent with happy hour foodstuffs, we were surprised by the small size of the chicken wings (tiny wings, so not much meat) and the cheese plate, while a good combo of grapes, almonds, and crackers, only had one type of cheese (Gouda). The description was a bit misleading from the menu, but it was tasty.

We arrived a bit after 6:00pm, and happy hour ends at 7:00pm. There isn’t a clock visible and we left our phones in our room. Our waitstaff came back to ask for another round of drinks but failed to tell us that happy hour ended and the price of the champagne we’d also ordered had almost doubled in price. It would have been nice to have someone tell us happy hour was ending or it was last call for happy hour.

It took an incredibly long time to our receive our bill too, which was surprising, as our section wasn’t busy and the staff was mingling among themselves.

Overall, the space is nice, a bit loud, but nothing fancy. Service was friendly, but inattentive. Probably would choose to dine elsewhere in the future.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh G, Manager at Red Star Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you Kristin for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review of your recent experience with us here at Red Star Tavern. It's always good to hear both the positive and not-so-positive experiences from guests so that we can continually be growing and improving. I will make sure to pass along these notes to the departments mentioned so that we can address any issues.
Thanks again for the review and we hope to serve you again the next time you are in town,
-Ashleigh Gall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Really nothing special to write about. Good bar, average staff, average service, food not as good or varied, interior is nice and you can have a good conversation as it is not all an open floor. Good for after dinner small group going out for drinks and a bite.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank globetrottheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh G, Manager at Red Star Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your recent experience here at Red Star Tavern. We have some great spaces available, as you mentioned, for small gathers; however, we can also accommodate large parties as well! With the restaurant being as large as it is we are able to mix and match the setting to fit the guest's needs.
Thanks again for leaving a review and we greatly hope to serve you again in the future,
-Ashleigh Gall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Star Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Red Star Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing