We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Portland, OR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #43 of 144 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The Avalon Hotel & Spa is the very best place we have stayed at in Portland now. I travel for business and pleasure and now have stayed at the Lucia, The NInes and the Avalon. The Avalon is the cleanest with the best atmosphere. It is not downtown, but that's ok because you have everything you need. Comp. breakfast, coffee, paper. View of the river in some rooms. Riverside Rest. next door. State of the art fitness and spa. Also, the king beds, large rooms and fantastic bathrooms made me sleep like a baby!

I will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monaco-Keller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,083 - 1,087 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

I loved my whole stay from the fresh fruit flavored water, to the beautiful river view, and the hotel's restraunt was so good and great service! I got to get a massage from their spa, and it was wonderful and I highly reccomend it. I loved how hospitable the whole hotel was, looking forward to another "staycation" soon!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orblzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear Orblzin,

We love Staycationers. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel, restaurant, and spa and we are very happy that you enjoyed our flavored water (I love it too).
We look forward to seeing you again; you may contact me directly to assist you planning your next staycation.

Ana Maret
amaret@avalonhotelandspa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My husband and I stay at this hotel every time we visit Portland. Our daughter goes to Reed College, and it offers collegiate family discounts. The rooms are comfortable and luxurious, and the restaurant is outstanding. The staff is always friendly and go out of their way to help. The location is convenient to downtown and several colleges, and it is located on the Willamette River. We won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Marcia C.

Thank you for your compliments of The Avalon Hotel and Spa. It is our pleasure to provide exceptional service to our guests; we are pleased you were able to experience this first hand. We genuinely value your loyalty and we thank you for your continue patronage.

Ana Maret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel is very comfortable, with views of the Willamette valley and modern facilities. Getting there by streetcar following the website's directions was not quite as straightforward as it could have been. We decided to leave the car at home since parking there is valet-only and quite expensive. Portland is a good city for getting around on foot. The food at the restaurant is excellent, though it was some time before we were seated.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goblingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We had a lovely and very relaxing "staycation" the room was very comfortable, excellent bed and exquisite view - and so very very quiet which i love. We had an excellent meal at Acquariva topped by a fantastic wine recommendation from the sommelier for an affordable and outstanding petite verdot.
It was lovely to wake to a view of Mt Hood and stroll along the waterfront in the morning. Far exceeded my expectations

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank segwaypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Segwaypdx

What a great review! We have shared it with the entire staff and thank you so much for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor.

We will look forward to continuing to welcome you back when your travels bring you to Portland.
Thank you again very much!

Sincerely,
Ana Maret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,753 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,433 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Address: 0455 SW Hamilton Ct, Portland, OR 97239-4245 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Portland
#15 Green Hotel in Portland
#15 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#30 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#52 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: €114 - €233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River's Edge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River’s Edge Hotel & Spa is an environmentally-friendly, 99-room luxury boutique hotel located at the edge of Portland’s South Waterfront District, an emerging mixed-use neighborhood integrating alternative transportation, parks and trails, green building practices, retail, restaurants and healthy living with art and design. Perched on the banks of the Willamette River just minutes from downtown Portland, River’s Edge offers travelers the sophistication and warm hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. Guests and visitors enjoy classic service, modern amenities and comforts expected from Portland boutique hotels, making River’s Edge Hotel & Spa a favorite among all Portland waterfront hotels. Among the hotel’s valued amenities are its luxurious two-level, 13,000-square-foot full-service spa, salon and fitness center as well as Aquariva restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Splitty, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your River's Edge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel And Spa
Avalon Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing