We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Serive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Ranked #24 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Serive”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at this residence inn and were absolutely overwhelmed by how friendly the staff, service and cleanliness of this hotel was. We would and will recommend Residence Inn downtown/river place to anyone. Also, thank you Parker for all your help referring restaurants and things to do! We appreciate it!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLI2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Dear MLI2012,
We appreciate your 5-star rating of our hotel! Service is our priority and we're glad to know that you had a wonderful experience at Residence Inn RiverPlace. Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    244
    70
    15
    9
See reviews for
259
155
30
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stay in Portland at least four times a year, and this was my first stay at the RI Downtown River Place. Here is a rundown of my experience. There was a minor glitch with the hotel's reservation system at check in, but Philip fixed it and got us situated in just a few minutes. The hotel didn't have much of a view, but if you want to look over the Willamette and traffic on the bridge, it is just your thing. See my notes on picking a room with a view under tips.

The room was a king suite with a fold out sofa. It was spotless, modern, and had absolutely everything to feel at home instantly. The fridge was almost full size, kitchen well stocked with utensils, dishes, towels, cooking instruments, etc. The two tv's were LCD and worked great. The cable is expanded, so you're not stuck watching only sports and news channels like so many other hotels. The bed was nice, but not pillow top, and it was a little firm for my liking. However, I like soft beds. The person who slept in the room on the sofa bed said it was fine, and had a full mattress that was comfortable.

The bathroom was kind of small, but the shower and commode are in a separate room from the mirror and vanity, so it worked for our party. The shower was awesome, water pressure excellent, and the hot water never ran out. The only real complaint about the bathroom that all of us had was the soap. It smelled disgusting. I could not figure it out. You would think the Marriott chain could afford basic, good smelling soaps. Instead, the soap smells like rancid grease, and it leaves your body feeling really dirty and smelling funny. I have experienced this same soap at other RI's. I highly recommend you bring your own soap from home if you stay here.

The pool, weights, and running machines are all located on the second floor, and they are in excellent shape, and clean. The hot tub was barely hat though, and it needed to be at least two degrees warmer.

The hotel serves a hot breakfast with different combinations of eggs, meats, and potatoes every day. There is an OK selection of fruit, but it could be more expanded. However, the waffle bar, breads, cereals, and beverages were all very good. The coffee was exceptionally good, and the staff are truly warm and attentive.

Finally, and perhaps the weakest part of the hotel, is the location. If you looking for a place within easy walking distance to the hub of downtown offices, restaurants, museums, and clubs, this hotel is not it. It appears there is a trolley that you can take downtown right outside the hotel, but they were working on the line and it was not running during the time we stayed there. If it is ever running, you could probably get downtown very easily, but check with the hotel first if you need to get downtown and have to walk. It is only about a mile and half, but in rainy weather, with no pacific rain gear, you might find the commute to be a burden.

Having said all that, if you are looking for a place that provides a great retreat and all the makings of a home away from home, the RI at River Place is a real score for value and amenities. There is a lot more to it than meets the eye.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the city, and not the construction going on at the harbor, or the bridges; you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sundaddydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My mother and I stayed in room 205 and we LOVED our room. It has a great view of the river, windows that open, plenty of room, a nice bathroom, and super comfy beds. We enjoyed the ammenties which included free coffee in the morning, complimentary use of bicycles, and turn down service. The staff was very nice and accomodating. The only negatives are the costly price of their parking and the spa was not in service. The hotel just changed ownership to a Kimpton Hotel (owners of Hotel Monacco) so hopefully it will continue to be a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Megan K,
Thank you for the review of your stay with Residence Inn RiverPlace in 2012. We are listening and appreciate your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I must say in my years of traveling and staying at hotels, this is the first time that the customer service won loyalty. I had a problem - they helped. I came back several times.

When that happens, you tend to overlook the little things. Good stay, nice hotel, great service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Thank you for your review and for rating Residence Inn RiverPlace 5 stars for service! We look forward to your future return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I just returned from a two night stay at this property and it was better than expected. After reading previous reviews, I was a little concerned about the location and proximity to the I-5 freeway overpass. I am happy to say that the reports of freeway noise are unfounded.

As other reviewers have mentioned, it was a little challenging to find. There is some construction happening on and around the Morrison Street bridge which makes it easy to miss the turn off onto Naito Parkway. As long as you keep heading for the waterfront, you will find this place. Don't get scared by all the signs to I-5 South. As long as you keep heading towards the water, you won't end up back on the freeway. Trust your instincts and keep looking. You will eventually find it.

We were placed in a two bedroom suite on the 9th floor with a city view. We also had a view of the river and a view of the freeway overpass. Not super scenic but also not noisy at all, as some other reviews have alluded to. If you didn't see the freeway out the window you wouldn't know it was there.

The room was spacious enough for 6 people, comfortably. The room did have a slight musty smell, probably from age and use, but nothing I was unwilling to tolerate. The furniture was a mix of old (a few nicks, dents and scratches) and new (modern and clean). The hairdryers in the bathroom are the kind that attach to the wall. Not something that works for me, but fortunately I brought my own.

The pull out bed was not the most comfortable I've encountered and it doesn't come made up. All of the linens and bed covers are in the closet. They also don't provide you with a good quality comforter. You will need to call housekeeping to ask for one. The beds in the bedrooms are slightly more comfortable than the pull out, but nothing close to the quality of a Westin Heavenly bed. For a short stay, this isn't a big deal but if you are planning a lengthy visit, it is something to be aware of.

The complimentary breakfast buffet was wonderful. Great choices every day. The challenge may be finding a place to sit. They don't have enough tables and chairs to go around. Use a little patience and someone will eventually get up and leave. You can also bring food back to the room if you don't have time to wait for a seat.

Parking is not a great value. $25 per day, in and out allowed. Half of the spots are located outside, which makes the fee a little excessive, in my opinion. If you are going to have half of your spots inside and half outside, the outside parking should be less expensive since it's less secure and a bit of an inconvenience.

Unless your plans take you outside of the downtown area, you really won't need a car when you get here. The Portland Streetcar stops just outside the hotel about 1/2 block up. Catch the car going NW to get into town. It will take you all the way up to Nob Hill (NW 23rd), through the downtown core and the Pearl District. Hop on and off at your convenience. You can also transfer to the Max if you need to go to outlining areas such as Beaverton and Gresham. Fares vary, so read the signs but basic travel between the hotel and the downtown core are in the free ride zone.

Hotel staff was always helpful and pleasant to deal with. We had a great stay here and will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coug1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#19 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing