We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome food, great tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forktown Food Tours

Forktown Food Tours
Book In Advance
US$89.00*
and up
Downtown Portland Tour
Ranked #4 of 77 Food & Drink in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us on our guided, culinary walking tours and taste your way through some of Portland's most delicious neighborhoods from fine dining to food carts. Friendly guides make it fun, sharing stories of local culture and history, while you sample some of the best food in town. On all of our tours, we make 6-7 stops featuring casual eateries, higher end restaurants, a food cart, an educational stop, and a dessert location that reflect the way we eat in Portland. On tour, you may sample local craft beer, seasonal small plates, cocktails, tiny artisan cookies, micro-batch coffee, food cart goodness, and more, made with the ingredients & creativity that Oregon is famous for. You'll get the stories behind the tastes with your expert culinary guide. We offer tours in three of the city's greatest neighborhoods! Alphabet District Tour: Friday afternoons. Mississippi Ave Tour: Saturday & Sunday afternoons. Downtown & The Pearl District Tour, Thursday and Saturday afternoons. Our tour schedule varies seasonally, so please check our website for more details and to buy tickets!
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food, great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

A definite must walking tour. The pbj's were awesome

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Zach R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    28
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Interestingly Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We took the Alphabet District tour. Interesting variety of locations and eats - everything from a pear reduction mimosa at one of Portland's oldest taverns to a Thai peanut butter and jelly sandwich from a food cart. Fun! I thought the price a tad high considering the promotion for the eateries and the neighborhood businesses. A suggestion is to include a "doggie bag" of take-home treats or coupons for a percent off dinner when you return for a full meal later on. I agree with others about the amount of food - we had a late breakfast, went on the tour at 2, then only had a few sushi for dinner. Great way to spend the afternoon. There's lots of fun shops and boutiques to explore after the tour.

Helpful?
1 Thank kinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must do experience if you like food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

This was a great tour, even in the rainy weather we had a great time. The guide balanced out the variety, the information, the length of the tour and the locations just perfectly in this newly emerged culinary hot spot. We signed up for this to try something different beyond the standard touristy things to do when visiting Portland and it was an absolutely fantastic idea. Based on what you get to eat and sample, the cost is just right and you should leave this tour full but not overstuffed.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank tdh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood,Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Mississippi Avenue, a few minutes north of downtown Portland is the location of this very interesting 3 hour food walk. We visited some of Portland's famous food carts/booths and tasted everything from S'mores style waffles to retro cocktails. Also included was a stop at a great salt store featuring 100's of different kinds of salt from all over the world. The neighborhood is eclectic and vibrant. It was a four star afternoon in my opinion.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank galfromcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So much more than I thought!!! A wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

The Forktown food tour was not only deliciousLy tasty, but also a fun and educational way to learn about the Alphabet/ Slabtown area of Portland and the restaurants that encompass it. We visited 7 different fresh and local establishments on the tour in 3 hours, with samples at each stop. It was a great assortment of food and drinks as well as a variety of different types of places to visit. I consumed WAY more food than I had anticipated eating- I couldn't turn down anything! It was nice to walk around the streets of NW Portland and learn about the history of the area. You must experience Forktown while in Portland!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank BREWVANApdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forktown Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Forktown Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing