We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds, some noise, and interesting reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pendleton
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Booked this hotel on Expedia. I knew we would arrive late and wouldn't be able to enjoy most of the amenities, therefore I selected this place based mostly on price. Had a warm welcome from the wife. I was put out by the owner Surya explaining that we got a fabulous price, as almost all the other hotels in Pendleton were sold out, and were going for at least $189/night. I knew this, as I had booked the Marigold simply because it was the only hotel with good reviews at that price point, that wasn't already booked. Not sure why he felt it was necessary to stress this, as it was late and I am sure it was noticeable that I was exhausted...not to mention my kids waiting in the car. It made me glad I had paid in advance.
As for the room, it was clean, basic, and more of a motel than hotel. The best part of this place is the beds--they were fantastic. We were in an outer facing room, so you could hear traffic and other guests as they went by. An inner facing room would probably be a lot quieter. We left early so we didn't take advantage of the basic breakfast. I was fine with the price I paid for the night, but would never pay the amount the owner mentioned upon arrival.

Room Tip: An inner facing room to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspirational1s, Owner at The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thank you for the review, sorry if you misunderstood what my husband was trying to convey. Sometimes it's hard for people to get his meaning with his accent. He was conveying that we don't price gouge our guests as most hotels were charging $189 you got an awesome rate and thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Thank you for enjoying our new beds, we want to make sure you get a great rest as this is the purpose of a hotel. If you come again please mention to us that you would like an inside room. We would be happy to arrange this.
We hope you travel safe and when you travel to Pendleton you choose The Marigold Hotel for your lodging needs.
Sincerely,
Andrea Das
Owner
The Marigold Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

New beds were nice. We were in an interior court room and not sure whether the exterior court rooms would be as quiet. We didn't use the indoor garage, but can see it would be good in winter. Rooms had sink outside the bath, which is a plus, plus both microwave and fridge, which I need. A real plus was USB plugs for recharging devices. The proprietor was very helpful. The free breakfast was adequate, if a little skimpy.

Room Tip: You can request an interior court room where your room does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspirational1s, Owner at The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thank you for your nice review Diane, We are glad you enjoyed the new beds. and other amenities. We added the extra plugs with USB charging for your convenience and we are happy you found them useful. I know I would enjoy this when I stay in a hotel.
We hope you have safe travels and we hope to have the change to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Andrea and Surya Das
Owners
The Marigold Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

The customer service was remarkable and the owner, Surya couldn't have been nicer. Just a few minutes after booking our room on-line I received a very welcome phone call from Surya just making sure we were traveling safe and that he was looking forward to our visit. Even though when we arrived at the hotel we were in the middle of Pendleton's bike week, we never noticed any noise from the group also staying at the hotel and had a great nights sleep. Our room was clean and recently updated with plenty of free parking and free Wi-Fi, which worked great! Pet-friendly too. I can't say enough about the owners who genuinely care about all their guests. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rustyolds72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspirational1s, Owner at The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thank you for the great review. We really do care about our guests, your comfort is our priority. We treat our guests like family and if we fail to provide you with a great rest then we failed in our service.
We are there to serve our guests needs anytime, we are glad you had a great nights sleep, especially since it was bike week. We look forward to having you stay with us again and having the opportunity to once again provide you with excellent service.
Sincerely,
Andrea and Surya Das
Owners :-)
The Marigold Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

I really am enjoying my stay here! The staff is all really friendly:) I really have no complaints. The price was great and my room was nice:) also love how its downtown and you can just walk places. I would definitely stay here again:)

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JoshnKelli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspirational1s, Owner at The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thank you Josh and Kelli for taking time to write some feedback regarding your stay. :-) I like the smiles, and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. We look for to seeing you again in the future. You should know that there is a place on this planet where you ( our guest ) comes first not money. That you have a second home here in Pendleton at The Marigold Hotel.
Travel safe and we will see you again.
Sincerely,
Surya and Andrea Das
Owners
The Marigold Hotel


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

My family and I stayed at the Marigold Hotel while in Pendleton for the Whisky Music Festival. Suriya, the owner, made us feel very welcome upon check in. Our two rooms were ready for early check in, and he wanted us to feel like family. The complimentary continental breakfast was great - waffles and cereal. The coffee tasted like it had cinnamon added, which was delicious! The only recommendation I have for the owner would be to steam clean the chairs in the rooms. Both of our rooms had chairs with stains on them. But, beds were very comfy, rooms were very clean, we enjoyed our time! Thank you, Suriya!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pendleton hotels
1.6 km away
Best Western Pendleton Inn
Best Western Pendleton Inn
#2 of 17 in Pendleton
676 reviews
1.5 km away
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
#15 of 17 in Pendleton
413 reviews
2.1 km away
Oxford Suites Pendleton
Oxford Suites Pendleton
#1 of 17 in Pendleton
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Pendleton
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn Pendleton
Hampton Inn Pendleton
#5 of 17 in Pendleton
511 reviews
1.5 km away
Rugged Country Lodge
Rugged Country Lodge
#4 of 17 in Pendleton
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton

Address: 105 SE Court Ave, Pendleton, OR 97801-2230 (Formerly Howard Johnson Pendleton)
Region: United States > Oregon > Pendleton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pendleton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pendleton
Price Range: €46 - €80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marigold Hotel Downtown Pendleton offers excellent service without the high price. Come stay in one of our Upgraded rooms. New Beds, Bedding and furnishings, AC/Heater, Coffee Maker, Iron and Ironing Board, Hair Dryer, Alarm Clock, Microwave and Refrigerator. We are located right downtown Pendleton and are walkable to all Pendleton has to offer. Try Flavors of India right on our property or walk to other great Restaurants like Prodigal Son, Hamley's, Great Pacific, Cimmiyoti's, and Rainbow Cafe to name a few. Walking distance to the Pendleton underground tours, the Umatilla River, the Pendleton Art Center, near The Woolen Mills, and the Rodeo Fairgrounds and Pendleton Convention Center. After a long drive why not stay where you can stretch your legs and enjoy your evening in Pendleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Pendleton
Pendleton Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing