We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
176
150
38
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
150
38
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooster room bagels continental breakfast woolen mills stay there again older place busy road comfortable beds rooms are small chain hotels small dog great price pleasant surprise road trip stayed one night coffee maker motel
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

$400 for two nights in a tired and awful motel. Shabby and exhausted, with holes in the curtains and a shower that dispensed only scalding injuring water; management uninterested in our complaint. Noisy traffic destroyed our sleep. Prices massive because of the local Portland roundup, maybe that’s what keeps this grim place in business. Be warned.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rclodgebooking, Manager at Rugged Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your business and writing down a feedback. The feedback given by you will keep us on our toes to improve ourselves by rectifying the flaws you pointed out. As for as the prices are concerned we are market competitive . During the Pendleton round up the only 4-days in a year the prices go up . I believe we work really hard to make it a success but obviously you cannot make every body happy.
I have one request for the upcoming guests the if you have any problem with function of anything front desk help is available 24-hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

One of the best we’ve stayed in for a budget motel! No frills, but extremely clean and cute. Almost feels like a bed and breakfast. We did stay upstairs. Friendly and accommodating clerk. Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jcogolfski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rclodgebooking, Manager at Rugged Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you Jcogolfski for the wonderful feedback . We appreciate your appreciation and your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

This hotel is a bargain and I'll be back on my next trip through Pendleton. I was delighted to find a very clean, comfortable room with all the amenities and no smell of cleaners or air fresheners--rare for an affordable hotel that allows dogs. Price couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rclodgebooking, Manager at Rugged Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank you so very much Kate for appreciation and business . We appreciate your appreciation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Excellent manager, beautiful flowers outside with comfy outdoor seating for beautiful evenings, clean room and good breakfast with oatmeal, cereal, bagels, fruit, yogurt, etc! We will return! Thanks for hosting a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sherylo919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rclodgebooking, Owner at Rugged Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you so very much for appreciation and your business,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Just checked in must have the same room the other review with a sloping. The highway was closed we had to detour through John Day and its a LONG drive.
Room is very clean and a little musty smelling. My guess is with a shot of whiskey or 2 the foor or smell wont matter. I just hope the bed is comfortable. The front desk person was very informative and very polite. Hopefully if we stay again we rate a better room than the dungeon.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank micadoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rclodgebooking, Manager at Rugged Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Thank you so very much Micadeco for appreciation and your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews