We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of The Coffee House

The Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 8 Quick Bites in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: The best breakfast in town
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

We pulled into town starving for breakfast having past many places that were either closed or looking questionable when we saw the sign for the Coffee House. Not expecting much and just happy it was open, we went in. And thank goodness we did. This place is simply phenomenal! Fortunately we had no wait and the service was great. The portions must be meant for hungry lumberjacks or fishermen because they were HUGE! We shared a breakfast sandwich that was incredibly fresh and tasty then had room for a marionberry scone. Fantastic! The chai latte was spicy and aromatic. I cannot rave enough about this little gem of a place. Not to be missed. BTW, the small pancakes are 12 inches in diameter. No kidding. Wonderful.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

The way this place works is you stand uncomfortably in everyone’s way for about a half hour before placing your order, taken by one person. So the door is open all the time and it’s cold.

Omelette was ok. Mushrooms were rubbery and inedible. For the price, my standards are higher. If you want more than one cup of coffee with your breakfast, make a pot before you go to the restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank OregonPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Huge coffees great omelets the potatos are great and service was fantastic. Very accommodating to another customer looking for gluten free options. Great place. You can hear the seals outside too

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank danielle_lupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We had to wait quite awhile to get our order in. It was fairly busy and the process was slow. It was all worth it after we got our food! The omelets, biscuits and gravy, and the fruit crepes were all delicious! We ended up eating here two days in a row and it was all very good. The portions are quite large. We shared our orders and were still stuffed in the end.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cmr352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

This is a hidden gem. Exceedingly casual eating experience. I actually cringe because so much food appears to be left behind and tossed away but everything is very tasty. LOVE the coffee and lattes which are made with French presses. There are the most delicious yummy glutton free danishes. They disappear quickly. I usually order the fish tacos - even though not made with fresh salmon - the mango salsa is super tasty. Corn vs flour tortillas are options. I really recommend and remember it gets very very busy. Closes I believe about 2 pm if not earlier so keep that in mind.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank mpP7536PH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coffee House also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to The Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing