We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
214
179
54
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
179
54
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free popcorn third floor continental breakfast great view nye beach bagels ocean view paved path beach access room was clean oregon coast nice balcony heated pool short walk the north end double queen room mini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018

We really enjoyed our stay at the Whaler. We were there 3 nights and were really comfy in our suite on the 3rd floor. The view of the sea was lovely and of course you will see Whales. Breakfast was adequate. The nearest hotel was the Elizabeth Suites but that is more expensive than the Whaler and you get the same view.

Lovely pool and hot-tub and when we did have a problem the hotel manager quickly sorted it out for us. very good laundry facility on site as well and plenty of parking.

it was an easy walk to the shops and restaurants around Nye Beach area. If you are staying in Newport this is definitely the best area to stay in. We did visit the area around the dock but you would not want to sleep there as there was a dreadful smell of fish down there.

Room tip: get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor -also some rooms are bigger than others
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FGEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Roberts265, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

FGEvans, thank you for the wonderful review! It is so nice to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy that we were able to sort out the problem. I agree that the view is lovely and that we are in a great location! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again! Jennifer Roberts, Assistant Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We stayed in one of the “houses”. It was perfect! There were 7 of us, so we opted to stay in the “house”. It accommodated 8..3 bedrooms, and a fold out sofa. All the space we could ever use! We watched from the living room..whales spouting! A short walk to the beach, but not bothered by the crowds on the beach! Short walk to many shops and wonderful restaurants! Wonderful! Looking to stay again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Roberts265, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Ann M, thank you for the exceptional review! I am delighted that you found the house perfect for your stay. It is always exciting to see the whales spouting! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the beach! Jennifer Roberts, Assistant Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

The Whaler was exactly what we were looking for, for our one night stay in Newport. This seaside motel reminds me of places I stayed as a child at the shore. The staff is friendly and helpful with free popcorn and coffee in the lobby. There is an indoor pool/spa and a gym. All the rooms face the ocean with a small balcony. The rooms are simple and clean with great views of the water. The beach access is directly across from the motel and restaurants are within easy walking distance.

Room tip: the higher floors have best views and cost a little more
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Roberts265, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Laurie S, thank you for the great review! I am happy to hear that the Whaler was exactly what you were looking for! Our staff appreciates your nice comments and we thank you for staying with us! Jennifer Roberts, Assistant Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Very nice room, needed handicap accessible bathroom, view from balcony amazing, slept with transom window open. Good coffee, complimentary popcorn in lobby, highly recommend. Offer two beach houses for families

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Roberts265, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Kathleen R, thank you for the nice review! I am glad that you enjoyed your room and the view from the balcony. We appreciate you recommending the Whaler! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Newport! Jennifer Roberts, Assistant Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We have been staying at the Whaler for years and have never had a bad experience. Front office staff is friendly and helpful and the room is clean and spacious with a small private balcony. Every room faces the ocean and you pay a little more depending on what floor you want to stay on (1st, 2nd or 3rd) with the 3rd floor being the most expensive.

WiFi worked fine and there is always popcorn and coffee available in the lobby. Nice late checkout (noon) and the pool is open late till 10pm. It’s an easy walk to the restaurants and shops at Nye Beach.

It’s pricey but less than what you’ll pay at surrounding properties.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank County-Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer_Roberts265, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

County-Hunter, thank you for the outstanding review! I am delighted that the Whaler is your go to place in Newport! Our staff appreciates your nice comments about being friendly and helpful. Thank you for returning to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next beach trip! Jennifer Roberts, Assistant Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews