We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally dumb and creepy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wax Works

The Wax Works
Ranked #15 of 47 things to do in Newport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Totally dumb and creepy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Don't waste your money. We knew it would be kitch but it seemd dirty and creepy. The figures didn't look like anyone we even recognized and while we were told that the self-guided tour would take 45 minutes, we were out of there in 5. Dated, over priced, and I'm pretty sure it would scare your kids if you were looking for something to keep them entertained.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank marnijvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    34
    52
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best of the Trio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I purchased the combo ticket from Drew at the Undersea Gardens and it allowed me to also vist Wax Works and Ripleys as well. Wax Works was by far my favorite, Its had exibits from Star Wars, Lord of The Rings as well as many other famous people like Johnny Depp, Michael Jackson, and Big Foot. It's a great place to vist but you must see all three attractions!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank 17jimmy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little interesting.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Some of the figures looked a lot like who they were suppose to be. Others looked nothing like who they were suppose to be. It was interesting how it was set up. I probably won't visit here again. It's definitely not worth the price.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank BlondePolkaDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

It's pretty cheesy and very small. Takes about 5-10 minutes to walk through. A couple fun displays, several that are pretty dated. At the end, you spill out into a gift shop (shared with "Ripley's Believe it or Not"). It'll probably take you longer to walk through the gift shop than it did to walk through the Wax Works.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank darcysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wax Works also viewed

 

Been to The Wax Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing