We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newport Fog”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Newport Fog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stay at the Econo Lodge frequently annually. This time the weather was foggy, buit very enjoyable. Lots of wonderful pictures. Really like staying at the Econo Lodge because the room accommodations are excellent, the manager at the front desk has excellent customer service, and easy to get to many local doings with great beach access. There is golfing at Agate Beach, great course. Our little dog really likes these trips. Our housekeeper is the greatest. We have lots of friends there as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaches085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    38
    26
    20
    25
See reviews for
44
46
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

The lady at the front desk was very nice and extremely helpful. We asked her for directions to several places. She was more than happy to help us. She even looked stuff up on the computer for us. The parking was pretty bad, though. And pretty tight. The room was clean. We had a smoking room because that was all they had left. I'm not sure how other smoking rooms are at other motels, but the smoke was awful. I know that was probably our fault. But I would suggest they air them out quite a bit before letting other guests stay there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlondePolkaDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

I booked this hotel online for a 5 day vacation our family was planning. First of all, do not believe the photos. We booked 2 rooms, they were supposed to each have a Queen Bed, fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Fridge was broke, beds were Full size with burn holes in the comforters, NO coffee maker, and definitely NOT CLEAN. The room I was in smelled like pot smoke, there was a guy hanging around outside the room who was completely drunk and agressive, there was something reddish brown on the wall behind the chair in the room and there was definitley blood outside on the wall behind the rooms. It was disgusting. We went to a nearby restaurant and started calling around looking for a new hotel. No way were we staying in this place for 5 minutes never mind 5 days. I knew I was going to lose the money for the first night but it was worth it to leave. It felt like an episode out of CSI. The only positive is how understanding the girl at the office was and also how helpful she was when we first checked in. I felt bad that we had to leave her there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennzocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

I usually like to avoid the econo lodges because they seem so old. this hotel was definitely a budget motel but we had a clean room with a lovely view of the ocean. Right on the coastal hwy and one block from the beach. I enjoyed looking out the window at the ocean. Loved walking on the beach and Newport was a lovely area. I'll be back. Breakfast was very simple and no dining area but I had some great muffins that I picked up elsewhere and sat in our room with coffee with the sound of the ocean so I was content. Prices on this hotel are definitely reasonable. I would love to go back.
tip: Get yourself some nice muffins at the local supermarket and enjoy with coffee in your room. Open the window and enjoy the smell of the salt air...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irene3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Nice place to stay. Close to the beach. May at the font desk was very nice and professional. The breakfast bar i thought was plentiful. Had fruit, O.J, coffee, muffins, bagels..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.0 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.2 km away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#7 of 24 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.1 km away
Days Inn Newport OR
Days Inn Newport OR
#14 of 24 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.2 km away
Waves of Newport
Waves of Newport
#16 of 24 in Newport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 606 SW Coast Hwy # 101, Newport, OR 97365-5024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT! Econo Lodge, a Newport hotel near Oregon Coast Aquarium Stay wwithin walking distance of the Oregon coast at the pet-friendly Econo Lodge(R) hotel in Newport, OR, located near the Yaquina Bay Lighthouse and Bayfront District shops. Situated near Highway 101, we offer quick, convenient access to a number of attractions, including: Mariner Square The Wax Works museum Oregon Undersea Gardens Ripley's Believe it or Not! Oregon Coast Aquarium The Chinook Winds Casino and Factory Outlet Mall are a 30-minute drive from the property. A diverse selection of eateries surrounds the premises, including Apple Peddler, Gee's Family, Pip Tide and Moby Dick's. Hotel features and amenities include: Free high-speed Internet access Free continental breakfast Free coffee Free local calls All guest rooms come equipped with a coffee maker, cable television, microwave, refrigerator, desk and wake-up service. Select rooms contain ocean views. Non-smoking rooms are offered. This Econo Lodge hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. Premier location, plentiful amenities and warm hospitality make the Econo Lodge hotel an ideal choice for travelers in the Newport, OR area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Newport
Newport Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing