We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Newport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Newport
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

This hotel is in a very convenient location just off Highway 101. There are several restaurants in the walking distance from the hotel. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room is spacious and clean but the whole facility looks bit old and need upgrading in few areas. Average breakfast is included in the room rate which is a good feature for a early morning start to your travel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    104
    98
    40
    22
See reviews for
92
121
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

This hotel was comfortable and clean. Nice breakfast, nice staff. The king sized bed was very comfortable, and they had plenty of outlets for phones, cameras etc. My only complaint is the shower. There was no tub and the hot water took well over a minute to go from ice cold to warm.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkwallflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

I stayed here recently on a Friday night as I had business the next day in Newport. The property, especially the office, has been renovated since the last time I stayed here (when it was still the Newport Motor Inn, before Travelodge bought it). The room was okay, but nothing more than that. There was no AC and you could hear noise from Hwy 101. I checked on-line booking prices, which are about $30 less than I paid as a walk-in, even with a discount. I don't have any real complaints, but neither do I have any real compliments.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed here for the weekend when we took my nephew to see the ocean for the first time. This was a good middle of the road motel. It was a full size bed where I had reserved a queen size.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We found the Newport Travelodge on Tripadvisor and since most of the reviews were good we thought we would stretch our travel budget and save a little on the room by staying here instead of something in the $120 range that we would normally do. Big mistake. We almost didn't stay at all and definitely won't be back.
The room they gave us smelled like smoke and the bathroom was unacceptable. The toilet seat and lid should have been replaced about 10 years ago (bubbles under the paint pushing through from who knows what moisture). It doesn't take a top notch manager to know that it makes more sense to spend $12 on a new toilet seat than to have your guests walk out of the room. The shower was about the same. The walls were delaminating from years of overuse with cleaners I suppose. All I know is that my wife and I weren't going to use it.
I called the front desk and after a few minutes the manager and trainee came to look at what we had issues with. The manager was obviously not of the same mind and attempted briefly to defend the bathroom but quickly showed us another room. It was much better but still below par for $80.
The bottom line is that if you are used to staying in the $100 room and think it is worth a try to save $20 here don't waste your time.
Similar to other travelers who reviewed this property, the plastic mattress cover was uncomfortable and the mattress left much to be desired. Not a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.6 km away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.7 km away
Days Inn Newport OR
Days Inn Newport OR
#14 of 24 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.8 km away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#7 of 24 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newport

Property: Travelodge Newport
Address: 1311 N Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-2446 (Formerly Newport Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Travelodge is a 39 room newly renovated property. Less than a mile from the city center and also less than a mile from the beach, this beautiful property offers all the modern amenities. New in 2011, pillowtop beds with either two double beds or one king bed, flat screen televisions and all new furniture. Also new carpet and drapes make our rooms cozy clean and comfortable. Be sure to stop by the lobby each morning and enjoy a continental breakfast. Your comfort is our top priority and we are anxious to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newport Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing