We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Painted Lady

Painted Lady
Reserve with OpenTable
Painted Lady is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 85 Restaurants in Newberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 2nd Street
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Amazing food.… expensive, but for special occasions totally worth it!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dibsenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    47
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't let the exterior fool you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

While the outside is unassuming, the experince that awaits inside is something special!
Very formal (bordering on rigid) but the prix fix menu was brilliant, and really exciting food combinations and preparations. We loved every bite! Go expecting an experience.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Good food. Good presentation with local ingredients. The local wine was okay, but overpriced. Much to our disappointment, we found the service here a bit pretentious. We have eaten in fine restaurants in different countries, and the wine pairings here were served with an over emphasized reverence.

Service was excellent, but they really need to lighten up and make this a fun experience. After all, it's just a good meal.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LikeVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fine dining in wine country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Excellent local cuisine paired with local fine wine. Down to earth simplicity yet sophisticated. Service was warm and attentive. Best meal we ever had! Make sure you book way in advance!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank goodkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiddletown, California
Level Contributor
608 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Great Food, Weird Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We went here for our anniversary dinner and ordered the chef's choice with wine pairing. When our waiter arrived, I almost bust out laughing. I told my wife that I though we were in a morgue and the waiter looked like a mortician! He was trying too hard to be serious. The food was very good, creative, and service was right on top of everything, almost vulture like. I chuckled that we came too early for Halloween. The wine pairing was less than satisfactory however. Normally we sip the wine before and during the meal, but the wines were very bland, didn't help the experience at all, and I questioned why they poured some Chardonnay from 2005, since most won't keep that well. We didn't get a wine for dessert or were offered coffee. The dessert was death by chocolate, too sweet for us, even though my wife is a total chocholic, she couldn't eat it, let alone with nothing to drink but water. We would go back again, but would skip the wine pairing for the extra money it cost.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scvrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Painted Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing