We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
14
11
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
11
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rental office proposal rock hawk creek lincoln city oregon coast parking lot beautiful beach microwave sand studio ghost winter protection cafe view community forest
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2011

we stayed in room 211/212 at neskowin resorts. The view of the ocean and proposal rock is breathtaking! The rooms were tastfully decorated w musem prints and had all the necessisties... Kitchennete w oven (for baking instant cookies) comfortable beds, separate bedroom/bathroom w tub for our two little girls. Even the dog was happy! It's an easy walk to a perfect kid beach with small river for little kids to wade in _ we can't wait to go back in the summer. The hawkcreek cafe and a small store are just around the corner. The best kids outlet stores are just a short drive to lincoln city (we stopped by devils lake where there is a fabulous playground on the west side). This is going to be our favorite easy getaway vacation _ what a great place. Only side note is the rental co only takes cash or check, so just have to plan for that.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rubiskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Wonderful view from our third floor 1 bedroom unit. My only complaint was the lack of an elevator. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tbubbette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

We have being going every year to Proposal Rock for 25 years,we always stay at the Duncan Suite but strangely have not met them. We travel 5000 miles from Scotland so it shows it is a wonderful spot.
Place is comfy and clean. There is a lovely lady at the front desk, Marion who is over 80 but plays bridge like a hustler.
Guys go to the local golf course and the gals bend plastic in Lincoln City. The big Casino there is worth a visit, food is good and it's a fun night.
Taking the coast road down through Astoria stop at Stephanies Cabin before you get to the bridge.
If you want to relax go to Proposal Rock.

Jim

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmyJEidick_aol_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

This resort is not actually a hotel, but a 3-story condominium complex. We reserved on the internet via a link to the owner of the unit we stayed in, called "The Crooked Oar." Our cost was $70 per night, with no additional taxes or cleaning fees. We visited during winter and not on a weekend, and occupancy was low. The Crooked Oar is a studio unit with full kitchen. It's not spacious, but very adequate for the price.

The view from the nice bay window of our 3rd floor unit was outstanding. The beach is very unique, with two sizable creeks combining directly in front of the window and flowing down the beach a couple of hundred feet to a massive rock, "Proposal Rock". The tide came in and covered most of the beach, leaving the Rock as an island at high tide but easily accessible at low tide. There's also a good view of the beginning of the Cascade headland to the south. The beach is especially unique due to the presence of a few hundred "ghost trees", 2000-year old spruces that were submerged and buried in sand by a seismic subsidence event. You are not as close to the actual surf as in some resorts, but the uniqueness of these view features more than made up for it.

The adjoining facility, the "Proposal Rock Inn", does NOT have as well-situated of a view as this one, the Neskowin Resort.

During the summer there is a bridge across the creek to the beach, which was pulled back out of use for protection from winter storms. Not a problem--a short trail nearby took us to the beach.

Neskowin has lots of homes, but few motels, a seasonal golf course, one small store, and one small but excellent restaurant.

We expect to make future visits to the Neskowin Resort.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Everjoyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2008

Neskowin Resort isn't so much a hotel as it is a bunch of owner-owned condos. There are probably half a dozen different ways to reserve a room here, but we went through Grey Fox Vacation Rentals and reserved #303. Since these are privately owned, every unit is going to be different, but ours had a kitchenette with 20" stove, microwave, fridge, coffee maker (and coffee in the fridge!), dishes, and cookware. It was carpeted with a queen size bed and fold-out couch, and included a TV with about 80 channels and a DVD/VCR combo. A nice bay window faced the ocean and it had a deck overlooking the beach and Hawk Creek. The bathroom had a deep jetted whirlpool tub.
To access the beach, you have to go around the building, another building, and over a bridge. It's about 2 blocks, but no biggie.
Obviously, there is no room service or front desk.
In the future I think I'm going to try to stay in more places like this with kitchens, as I think we probably saved about $75-$100 per day by not eating out for every meal. Although, Hawk Creek Cafe is a great place to eat in Neskowin. Okay, so it's the only place to eat in Neskowin, but it's still great. I can imagine it being quite busy in the summer, however. There's also a small grocery store. For anything else you might need, busy touristy Lincoln City is 10 miles to the south.
With the winter rate and special, we got a free night and didn't have to pay the $50 cleaning fee. So I think it was a good value. I'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank oregone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews