We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Floras Lake House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Inn at Face Rock(Bandon)(Great Value!)
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Table Rock Motel(Bandon)(Great Value!)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Kris Inn(Bandon)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bandon Inn(Bandon)(Great Value!)
US$154
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lighthouse Cove Inn(Bandon)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamplighter Inn(Bandon)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
36
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloras lakeshort walkthe southern oregon coasta lovely staygreat hoststwo night stayb bslizportland
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We deliberated for a long time before choosing Flora's Lake because it is about twenty-five minutes' drive from Bandon. We need not have worried though because this is an exceptional bed and breakfast - a really beautiful house in a magical location overlooking the lake and just three minutes from the Pacific seashore.

Will and Liz are delightful hosts and their housekeepers John and Bertie are extremely friendly and helpful. John frequently appeared just for a chat or to check that we were OK and gave us some great ideas for hikes.

A very lovely and peaceful place - we will not forget sitting out on the deck watching the sun slowly sinking over the lake - beautiful!

Thanks Will and Liz!
Bryan and Ann - England

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BryanDCrowboroughUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2008

What a find! First of all, this B&B differs from most in that it is fairly new construction. Most inns are antique, historic homes near medium-to-large cities. Flora’s Lake House is a contemporary-yet- welcoming design which spotlights the beauty of the natural environment – and is far from any large cities. But that’s what makes this place so great. It’s the perfect weekend or week-long escape, and it also scores high as an overnighter for travelers enjoying the outstanding Oregon coast.

The living area’s vaulted, wood-paneled ceiling creates a space perfect for total relaxation – and it’s also the spot where guests enjoy a fabulous buffet breakfast every morning. Our room, the Nautical Room, was beautifully decorated and had an extraordinarily comfortable bed. Each of the four rooms has a door which opens onto their own private section of porch. Ours had a nice view of the lake and, beyond that, the Pacific Ocean, which you can hear as its waves pound the shore (super-relaxing to hear at night!) We also had a bay window with built-in window seat. What a treat to gaze out and listen to the surf!

The owner also runs a windsurfing school at the lake; this pocket of landscape apparently enjoys a climate that’s perfect for that kind of activity all season long. It was exciting to take a walk down there and watch the kite boarders in action!

The caretakers, John & Bertie, seemed like old friends as soon as we met them. The other guests were great, too, and we had a blast over breakfast – lots of laughs and fun travel stories were shared. Breakfast is plentiful and delicious – everything from freshly baked blueberry muffins and homemade granola to generously sliced melon, bagels, juice, hard boiled eggs, all the fixings and more. John made sure no one’s coffee cup was ever less than half full – and tea drinkers had a terrific choice of organic teas. (Liz normally does breakfast and she was out of town; I have a feeling the selection might usually be even greater, but honestly I couldn't eat another bite as it was!) They make you feel so comfortable - you really are a guest in their home.

I don’t believe the owners do much advertising, and they sure don’t have to. Word of mouth on this place does it all! They stay pretty booked all season as far as I can tell, so make your plans early! I almost hate to spill the beans on the place (I’d love to keep it a secret!), but they simply do too good a job here not to sing their praises from the rooftop.

Will & Liz, John & Bertie – well done, Friends. Well done!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liveoutloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2007

A casual visitor to the Oregon coast would never just happen upon Floras Lake House. The extra effort needed to find this B&B is well worth it. The house is comfortable, the lake and area around the house are beautiful, and the staff are welcoming. Each morning the owners, Liz and Will, have breakfast and conversation with the guests. When Liz and Will are not around, the caretakers (Bertie and John) are available to answer questions, recommend a restaurant, etc.

Our two-night stay at Floras Lake House was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Doctor_English
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2007

My husband John and I have stayed at the Floras Lake House B & B several times over the last four years. Liz and Will, the owners and John and Bertie the caretakers are delightful and so warm they make us feel at home. There are four rooms that are individually unique in their decor and each one is spotlessly clean (we have stayed in each one). The towels are thick, the beds are comfortable, and the views are a feast for the eyes.

One of the things I enjoy most is the quiet I find at this inn that is tucked away from the bustle of the world. The lake is serene and the ocean is a short walk from the house. There is easy access to a beach that is usually deserted. We love sitting on the dunes and watching the waves roll in as well as taking a leisurely stroll. For the more adventuresome, there is wind surfing on the lake with equipment and lessons available.

Breakfast varies from visit to visit but each one has been delicious. Each time we have had a warm dish as well as homemade granola, fruit, and different types of bread. The breakfast conversations range from intellectually thoughtful discussions to hysterically comical stories.

We both highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast and plan on visiting often in the coming years.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjmac46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2006

My husband and I stayed at Flora's during a whirlwind tour of the West (think San Francisco to LA, San Diego, Las Vegas, Montana, Seattle, Portland and back to San Francisco).
We planned a night at Flora's before returning to SF and ending our honeymoon. We wanted a peaceful, quaint, charming place to clear our heads and enjoy the lovely Oregon sea coast. We found this and more.
With a unique setting that places the B&B by the Pacific as well as a small lake, you are completely immersed in fresh air and an endless sky. Beyond the beautiful grounds you can walk for hours and not see a single soul.
Owners Liz and Will, and caretakers Bertie and John, are gracious, friendly and make your stay feel like a night with friends. We enjoyed the light atmosphere over breakfast where everyone exchanged more than simple pleasantries.
We look forward to our next trip through Langlois so that we may stop and say hello to our new friends at their beautiful bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank montanamarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews