We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Afternoon ”

Jacksonville Inn Dining House
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located in the center of Jacksonville, a historic town in Southern Oregon that got its start as part of the gold rush back in the 1850s, stands the Jacksonville Inn. It’s an elegant bed and breakfast housed in a building built in 18961 complete with walls made of locally quarried sandstone (specks of gold are still visible in the mortar). The historic hotel rooms blend distinctive 19th century décor with the necessities of a connected digital age, including a variety of modern comforts and amenities. Whether or not you are staying in the unforgettable rooms, you will love dining in the superb restaurant with its distinctive menu and impressive wine list featuring over 2,000 wines. The restaurant is known for its attention to detail and personal service and has a passion for building connections with its customers. The Jacksonville Inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It has served three U.S. presidents and has provided lodging for a U. S. president and First Lady.
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

This afternoon we stopped by the Jacksonville Inn for a glass of wine while enjoying the beautiful southern Oregon weather. We had amazing service thanks to Mikah who was kind and friendly and just all around amazing! The wine was perfect, and we couldn’t ask for more!

Thank KKehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

When you have guests coming for dinner from 300 miles away, you want to show them the best dining the Rogue Valley has to offer. That is why we picked the Jacksonville Inn. Our server, Colin, went out of his way to make this a really enjoyable experience. Excellent food and great atmosphere. Our guests were originally from Hilo, Hawaii. They were properly impressed with their first visit to our area-and that is why............ we're back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank larkinjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry_Evans-JVI, Owner at Jacksonville Inn Dining House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for the kind words. We are blessed with a wonderful, caring staff that constantly strives to provide exemplary food and service.

Jerry Evans
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

This is a romantic place, but the food was somewhat disappointing, overall. The salads were OK, but nothing special. I had the spanakopita, with a nice, flaky dough, but a forgettable filling with undercooked onions ($24). The accompanying rice pilaf and vegetables were barely edible. My wife had good salmon with some tasty gnocchi, but the sauce was a bit too rich and creamy($34). But the white chocolate mousse was wonderful ($8). And the service was excellent.

2  Thank MaineGuy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry_Evans-JVI, Owner at Jacksonville Inn Dining House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

I am pleased that the Maine Guy enjoyed our “romantic environment.” Since the Jacksonville Inn was built in 1861 it definitely has its operational challenges, but the majority of our guests seem quite pleased with our facility. My wife and I have owned & operated the Jacksonville Inn for 41 years and we endeavor to make upgrades every year. I am not surprised that our guests enjoyed the white chocolate mousse. We have been serving this dish for over 35 years.

As I am on the premises 7 days per week I am almost always available and appreciative of any opportunity to discuss any critiques or suggestions from our guests. Please ask for me.

Jerry Evans, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Our meal was delicious. Between the two of us we had escargot and blue cheese creme brulee for appetizers. We each had a blue cheese salad and the parmesan halibut. All of our food was delicious. The restaurant has an extensive wine list and we also shared a bottle of Trefeten Chardonnay. Our server, Molly, was pleasant and helpful with our menu selections. Would definitely recommend Jacksonville Inn Dining House.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TwinMom1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry E, Owner at Jacksonville Inn Dining House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for recommending us to others and providing such thoughtful feedback. The team and I really appreciate this! We hope to see you again someday.

Warm wishes,
Jerry Evans, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We were told to go here by numerous people and could not work a dinner in so opted for lunch. The entrance is beautiful and old, a deep wood with wonderful photos. We went to the patio to enjoy the nice weather. The service was prompt & friendly.

We all thought the Blue Cheese Raspberry Caveiar Creme Brulee sounded intriguing so shared it. Absolutely wonderful! The raspberries are cooked then dropped by an eye dropper into a cooling solution and the end result is a caveiar presentation.

I had the Mongolian Stir fry & one friend had chicken stir fry. She and I both thought they were a little heavy on the salt and my beef pieces were a little large.

My other friend had the pear walnut salad and not only did it look lovely - she thoroughly enjoyed it.

Thank PeeDeeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry_Evans-JVI, Owner at Jacksonville Inn Dining House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

We are pleased, of course, that our Seattle guests enjoyed the patio at the Jacksonville Inn, the nice weather, and, most importantly, the prompt and friendly service. We appreciate PeeDeeR’s critique of the Mongolian and Chicken Stir-Fries. We’ve passed along to our chef their comments regarding the seasoning and size of the beef. Indeed, the pear walnut salad is a favorite of many of our customers.
I am on the premises seven days a week and always appreciate customers’ suggestions on how we can improve our offerings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jacksonville Inn Dining House also viewed

 
 

Been to Jacksonville Inn Dining House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing