We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn(Hood River)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$209
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$273
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverview Lodge(Hood River)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hood River Hostel(Hood River)
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Street Hotel(Hood River)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hood River Hotel(Hood River)
US$240
US$221
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lodge 902(Hood River)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,029)
Filter reviews
1,029 results
Traveller rating
574
336
84
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
574
336
84
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverpicnic tableswhite buffalowine glassesfire pitlovely groundsnew buildingpartial river viewthe cliffgreat viewview roomcolumbia gorgebit datedshower headclean roomsqueen bedlarge room
Filter
Updating list...
874 - 879 of 1,029 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Great little lodge with some of the best views of the Columbia River! This is an older, non-chain property that is located in a wooded area along the banks of the river. Very basic and slightly
dated room, but we had everything we needed - lot's of space, a comfy bed and a large window that looked out at the river. Our room was on the third floor with a balcony, river side - very private. Although we only stayed one night, I wouldn't hestitate to return and stay a bit longer. Only drawback is it isn't within walking distance to much, but the drive into downtown Hood River is a short one.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river with balcony - the higher the floor, the better rhe view
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thanks for your review! We are updating room furniture as we can over time, and are planning on another round of updating in the Fall. The third floor does have a great view! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I'm considering writing a guidebook for the rest of us entitled "Best Places Next to Northwest Best Places". This charming motel would fit that description. It's the downscale next door neighbor to the famous and pricey Columbia Gorge Hotel. What you get is a family-friendly, comfortable and reasonably priced alternative with essentially the same gorge-gous views as the Hotel. Our family of four took one of the one-bedroom suites with a deck overlooking the river. It was well-worth the $120 a night. Everything was clean and comfortable. Decor was a bit dated, but who cares when you can sit on your deck and enjoy views of the kiteboarders, raptors and the sunset? While we were sipping a Full Sail ale on the deck, boys were off exploring the park-like property and chasing the cliff dwelling hotel cats. This is a great option for traveling passing through or exploring the area for a few days.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get a suite with a deck. Make sure to make reservations.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnHTacoma_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thanks for your review, and let us know if you do write that book! We're working on a couple projects for guests to enjoy that view more, as well as working on updating our furniture. Definitly call well in advance to reserve your favorite room, and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Somehow we overlooked the Vagabond on past trips to Hood River. It is easy to blow right by this discreet little motel. Hidden from the highway are two story buildings that sit near the cliff edge looking directly over the Columbia River. Our first floor room had a fabulous wide open view. The room was comfy, clean, spacious and quiet. The grounds are nicely cared for and full of native plantings. There are picnic tables overlooking the river where we enjoyed two meals. We brought our own food and took advantage of the refrigerator provided. Our dog was welcome and from our room we enjoyed walking a trail to a river overlook to the west and the path to the historic Columbia Gorge Hotel to the east. The service was friendly. We will certainly return to enjoy this motel that says "Oregon".

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sitesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thanks for your review, we are a little hidden spot people don't see from the road! We're going to have some more wildflowers and picnic spots overlooking the river, so next time you can maybe spot the eagles flying by or watch the sunset to the west. Thanks again, glad we could happily surprise you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This place is great! The value for what you pay is off the charts! This suite is very large with a balcony overlooking the river, a fire place, two beds, and a sofa. Very clean and quiet! We love it and we will return! I'm thinking for thanksgiving.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happycamper0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thanks for your review! Glad we could be off the charts for you. If you are thinking about a Thanksgiving trip, just plan it ahead of time a little, as we do fill up (especially around the holidays). That way, you have your choice of room before someone else reserves it! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This place was fantastic! I was part of a photo tour around Mt Hood and we got in around 9pm to register. There were a lot of people all checking in at the same time and the woman taking care of us did a great job. The room was very clean and well appointed. This isn't a 4 seasons so if you go there expecting luxury you'll think I'm crazy giving it a 5 rating (I swear I've seen some comments like this!). It's a lodge. Go there expecting that and you'll be extremely pleased especially at such a value. I hope to get back to the area again and will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Get a partial view/view room so you're in the back away from the road if very light traffic noise bothers you.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zelgaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Thanks for your review, glad we could be fantastic! We're not uber high-end, we think people should have a nice place to stay without breaking the bank, however we are going to continue to make improvements and upgrades as time goes by. Glad you had a great stay with us, and we'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews