We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Hood River was the first night destination on our motorcycle trip to Tahoe with a group of fellow riders. I'm so happy that I booked at the Vagabond Lodge. It is not in town but had everything we needed and town was a short drive away. The Vagabond is larger than I expected and the rooms are in a few different buildings. It is an older Inn but very well tended. The front of the property is right next to the freeway but the building we were in was set back far enough that freeway noise was not an issue.
We chose 2 queen balcony room. It was spacious and clean and had nice touches like wine glasses and a cork screw in addition to great views of the beautiful Columbia river. There were several wind surfers on the river and it was fun to watch them. We also enjoyed spotting the many pretty semi wild ( but well fed by the management) cats that have taken up residence in the woods around the Inn. There were a lot of stairs to get to the view rooms in this building but it was doable. If you have issues with stairs you may want to ask about the rooms in other buildings.There are many shady and green areas on the property, a few picnic tables and a playground for the kiddos.
I always try to book lodging where we can walk to dine and there were several choices for mid priced food very near this inn as well as a wine bar nearly in the parking lot. If you want a fancy meal the Columbia Gorge Hotel is right next door.
It was a good stay and when we come back to Hood River I will book here again!

Room Tip: The river views are really nice so book a view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harleytravelerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Thanks for your review! Yep, Pam loves her quasi-adopted kitties, and they don't go without a meal! In the building you were in, there are a couple more stairs per flight than other stairwells. They were built so the rise per step was easier than typical stairs, making it easier to walk up. That's why they're wider as well. Only the top floor requires 1 flight of stairs. And yes, nothing like enjoying the view with a good bottle of wine! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

748 - 752 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

Great little lodge with some of the best views of the Columbia River! This is an older, non-chain property that is located in a wooded area along the banks of the river. Very basic and slightly
dated room, but we had everything we needed - lot's of space, a comfy bed and a large window that looked out at the river. Our room was on the third floor with a balcony, river side - very private. Although we only stayed one night, I wouldn't hestitate to return and stay a bit longer. Only drawback is it isn't within walking distance to much, but the drive into downtown Hood River is a short one.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river with balcony - the higher the floor, the better rhe view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thanks for your review! We are updating room furniture as we can over time, and are planning on another round of updating in the Fall. The third floor does have a great view! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I'm considering writing a guidebook for the rest of us entitled "Best Places Next to Northwest Best Places". This charming motel would fit that description. It's the downscale next door neighbor to the famous and pricey Columbia Gorge Hotel. What you get is a family-friendly, comfortable and reasonably priced alternative with essentially the same gorge-gous views as the Hotel. Our family of four took one of the one-bedroom suites with a deck overlooking the river. It was well-worth the $120 a night. Everything was clean and comfortable. Decor was a bit dated, but who cares when you can sit on your deck and enjoy views of the kiteboarders, raptors and the sunset? While we were sipping a Full Sail ale on the deck, boys were off exploring the park-like property and chasing the cliff dwelling hotel cats. This is a great option for traveling passing through or exploring the area for a few days.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get a suite with a deck. Make sure to make reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnHTacoma_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thanks for your review, and let us know if you do write that book! We're working on a couple projects for guests to enjoy that view more, as well as working on updating our furniture. Definitly call well in advance to reserve your favorite room, and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Somehow we overlooked the Vagabond on past trips to Hood River. It is easy to blow right by this discreet little motel. Hidden from the highway are two story buildings that sit near the cliff edge looking directly over the Columbia River. Our first floor room had a fabulous wide open view. The room was comfy, clean, spacious and quiet. The grounds are nicely cared for and full of native plantings. There are picnic tables overlooking the river where we enjoyed two meals. We brought our own food and took advantage of the refrigerator provided. Our dog was welcome and from our room we enjoyed walking a trail to a river overlook to the west and the path to the historic Columbia Gorge Hotel to the east. The service was friendly. We will certainly return to enjoy this motel that says "Oregon".

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sitesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thanks for your review, we are a little hidden spot people don't see from the road! We're going to have some more wildflowers and picnic spots overlooking the river, so next time you can maybe spot the eagles flying by or watch the sunset to the west. Thanks again, glad we could happily surprise you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This place is great! The value for what you pay is off the charts! This suite is very large with a balcony overlooking the river, a fire place, two beds, and a sofa. Very clean and quiet! We love it and we will return! I'm thinking for thanksgiving.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happycamper0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thanks for your review! Glad we could be off the charts for you. If you are thinking about a Thanksgiving trip, just plan it ahead of time a little, as we do fill up (especially around the holidays). That way, you have your choice of room before someone else reserves it! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.3 km away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
4.5 km away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.3 km away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hood River
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
3.5 km away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
348 reviews
1.4 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: €73 - €138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing