We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
35
7
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
35
7
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 47 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My wife and I wanted to get away from the weekend, and we sure did at the Grand Lodge! We arrived in the afternoon and we went right in the lodge. It is decorated very tastefully with modern touches, yet you know that you are at a mountain lodge. Nice exposed wood beams, mood lighting, and the best part, a loft with a spiral stair case! This is a great value for large families or couples that want to enjoy some time at the mountain. The condo has two large bedrooms, large living area, kitchen and the loft. We had some great food near by, jumped in the hot pool in 28 degree weather watching the night sky as the steam evaporated, and finally bundled up next to the fireplace and watched a movie. The next morning, we enjoyed the mountain view and the fresh snow from the balcony, had some breakfast and went for a hike.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We went to Grand Lodges during the off-season--October. The rooms at this new resort are beautiful and spacious. We stayed in a 3BD that was We are Marriott owners in Hawaii and Kauai, and the quality of these rooms was on par with the Marriott properties.There are nice places nearby to take hikes. I recommended going for a hike around Lake Trillium for those who do not regularly hike. It is nice and flat. It's beautiful, especially when the sky is clear and you can see Mount Hood clearly. Timberline Lodge is a fun stop for movie lovers. Part of the Shining was filmed there. There is lots to do and see in the area--Columbia River Gorge, lots of falls, Portland is only an hour away. There are a few restaurants in town. I recommend Huckleberry Inn. Great pancakes and great huckleberry pie!

We went during the off-season. There was not much service.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Iowa5011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We had a wonderful week at Grand Lodges Mount Hood last month. We have enjoyed condo vacations very much in the past. Traded a Marriott Vacation Club week for this property, and it with no regrets! Government Camp is a really neat place to visit, everyone is very friendly, and althoug it's a small village, we found good eateries as well. And, it is just 1/4 mile from the entrance to the splendid federal Timberline Lodge where we enjoyed folks skiing and snowboading in the summer. The lodge is a national treasure, reminding us of the excellent work that our US government did under FDR to put folks back to work during the Great Depression. It remains a site of national pride, which was also used to external shots for the film, "The Shining."

The units at Grand Lodges are very, very spacious...2,300 square feet! This is the largest unit in which we have ever stayed. From what we understand, it is the upscale answer to the Collns Lake Resort adjacent to it in the charming alpine village of Government Camp. Beautifully decorated, two gas fireplaces, top-of-the line furniture, appliances, kitchen gadgets....you name it. Of course, in June the property was far from fully-occupied....a bit lonely at times actually, but such a gorgeous setting. Warm enough outside for shorts and sandals, but still some big mounds of snow piled up nearby....all under the compelling view of the awesome snowcapped Mount Hood. Staff was very friendly, but never intrusive with begging us to come to a sales promotion, or whatever. Easy parking in the enclosed, secure garage and a handy elevator and luggage cart always at our disposal.
Hard to think of any suggestions for improvement, but I can venture a couple:
1. A trash chute on each floor would be a vast improvement rather than schlepping our trash down to the dumpster on the garage level.
2. Our 3-bedroom unit has no televison in the medium sized lovely bedroom which had its own huge bath....rather odd. The small 3rd bedroom with bunkbeds had a flat screen on the wall, however.
3. The fitness "center" is really a tiny room which no one seemed to use. The outdoor heated pool is attractive, but sadly right next to the roadway. Placing it between the two main buidings, perhaps with a fitness center there as well...near the small lake, would have been gorgeous, but perhaps not feasible due to the streams running by from the endless melting snow from Mount Hood.
4. Each unit has a huge, beautiful balcony with a large direct-gas grill. Our unit had a breath-taking view of Mount Hood as well, but none of the units had a stick of furniture on them. So very odd as well. It would have been wonderful to have had morning coffee outside on the balcony, but not to stand there the entire time.

Nevertheless, the positives of this fine property far outweigh the negatives. I can only imagine how ideal it is during the long ski season. I hope to return some day!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truantWestminster_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Lodges, Front Office Manager at The Grand Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Thank you for your review! We're so glad you had a great time and hope to see you back at the Grand Lodges soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews