We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rodeway Inn(Arlington)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
81
14
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
14
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestswilson ranchpioneer roomserved family stylewilson familyquiet at nightride horsesnight stayexcellent fishingblue basinstayed one nightkarahorsebackfossilshostsrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Very enjoyable time at the Wilson Family Ranch. Friendly and hospitable hosts and nice accommodations. Home and rooms are not fancy but are typical of a cozy ranch home. Everything was super clean and all of our needs were met. Breakfast in the morning was good and felt like an international experience with guest speaking several languages, as there were some from both Germany and France. Horseback riding was awesome, territorial views were amazing, horses were great and well taken care of. If you are looking for fancy smancy...this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for an authentic and fun experience, living the simple life...this is a great option. Excellent fishing and swimming are 20-30 minutes away. Will definitely be back!!!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank LRQ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Being from New Zealand, we really enjoyed the opportunity to experience in a small way an uniquely American way of life. Lovely, hospitable people. Forget about happening in Washington, this is the real USA.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The_Gannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This is a working ranch in Fossil OR, which is a town so small that if you blink, you might miss it. Fossil is not a destination town so go there knowing it’s quiet and you need to come up with your own activity. On the ranch they offer horseback riding, nearby you can dig for fossils or visit the fossil monuments. Painted Hills is not too far away and is absolutely gorgeous. As motorcyclists, we love the nice curvy roads and beautiful scenery, so we’re there to ride!

Check in is self-serve. Just inside the front door is a small desk and a check in card denoting what room yours is and where it is located. It also includes a phone number for you to call and leave a message that you have arrived.

Rates are based on room size. Last year we were only staying one night and we wanted to save a few bucks so we stayed in a room that was on the small side. It had limited space for belongings and was more cramped with all our motorcycle gear. This year we stayed two nights in a larger room that was much more comfortable and had more space for us to spread out. For us the comfort was worth paying a bit more.

Last year Phil and Nancy were our breakfast hosts, and this year it was Kara and Brian. They are all humorous (entertaining!) warm folks and we really enjoyed interacting with them. The family style breakfast was at a huge long table that Phil made himself. The three times we’ve had breakfast it was good and plentiful, but nothing out of the ordinary. I’ve been told about their famous biscuits and gravy but haven’t had the good fortune to try those yet. (Guess I’ll have to go back again!) We really liked the interaction and conversations with the other guests.

Effies kitchen is a separate outside building with an oven, sink, microwave and refrigerator freezer that is well stocked with pots & pans, cooking utensils, as well as paper plates, plastic cups & cutlery for guest use. Outside are a couple of picnic tables along with two grills, one charcoal and one gas. This last trip we took advantage of these amenities and grilled dinner both nights and just enjoyed the beauty of the fields around us.

We really enjoy this place and look forward to next year’s visit. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red1879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

My wife & I play golf out @ a small little course outside fossil we have been playing the couples tournament for the last 4 years & every time we stay at Wilson's so this is long overdue but headed there next weekend :) the morning breakfast @ the table with Nancy & all the other guests is always a great time. Nancy is one of the sweetest people in the world if your a early riser you will find her in the kitchen making the wonderful breakfast & willing to chat. My wife & I love going there we look forward to this weekend all year long for the golf & visiting with the folks at Wilson's

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Arik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

My Husband and I just returned from an exploration of Wheeler County trip. We stayed at the Wilson Ranch as our base. It is a beautiful, peaceful location. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, Breakfasts are hearty and good with great coffee. There is a separate little kitchen building with stove, refrigerator, barbecue and microwave for the guests to use. The hosts are very welcoming and will helped us navigate the wonders of the Painted Hills, Blue Basin John Day and all the little treasures we found on the way. We didn't ride horses but those who did helped solve real daily ranch problems.

Room Tip: The bathrooms are on the first floor and daylight basement.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Blue8235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews