We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Fossil B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This is a working ranch in Fossil OR, which is a town so small that if you blink, you might miss it. Fossil is not a destination town so go there knowing it’s quiet and you need to come up with your own activity. On the ranch they offer horseback riding, nearby you can dig for fossils or visit the fossil monuments. Painted Hills is not too far away and is absolutely gorgeous. As motorcyclists, we love the nice curvy roads and beautiful scenery, so we’re there to ride!

Check in is self-serve. Just inside the front door is a small desk and a check in card denoting what room yours is and where it is located. It also includes a phone number for you to call and leave a message that you have arrived.

Rates are based on room size. Last year we were only staying one night and we wanted to save a few bucks so we stayed in a room that was on the small side. It had limited space for belongings and was more cramped with all our motorcycle gear. This year we stayed two nights in a larger room that was much more comfortable and had more space for us to spread out. For us the comfort was worth paying a bit more.

Last year Phil and Nancy were our breakfast hosts, and this year it was Kara and Brian. They are all humorous (entertaining!) warm folks and we really enjoyed interacting with them. The family style breakfast was at a huge long table that Phil made himself. The three times we’ve had breakfast it was good and plentiful, but nothing out of the ordinary. I’ve been told about their famous biscuits and gravy but haven’t had the good fortune to try those yet. (Guess I’ll have to go back again!) We really liked the interaction and conversations with the other guests.

Effies kitchen is a separate outside building with an oven, sink, microwave and refrigerator freezer that is well stocked with pots & pans, cooking utensils, as well as paper plates, plastic cups & cutlery for guest use. Outside are a couple of picnic tables along with two grills, one charcoal and one gas. This last trip we took advantage of these amenities and grilled dinner both nights and just enjoyed the beauty of the fields around us.

We really enjoy this place and look forward to next year’s visit. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red1879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

My wife & I play golf out @ a small little course outside fossil we have been playing the couples tournament for the last 4 years & every time we stay at Wilson's so this is long overdue but headed there next weekend :) the morning breakfast @ the table with Nancy & all the other guests is always a great time. Nancy is one of the sweetest people in the world if your a early riser you will find her in the kitchen making the wonderful breakfast & willing to chat. My wife & I love going there we look forward to this weekend all year long for the golf & visiting with the folks at Wilson's

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Arik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

My Husband and I just returned from an exploration of Wheeler County trip. We stayed at the Wilson Ranch as our base. It is a beautiful, peaceful location. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, Breakfasts are hearty and good with great coffee. There is a separate little kitchen building with stove, refrigerator, barbecue and microwave for the guests to use. The hosts are very welcoming and will helped us navigate the wonders of the Painted Hills, Blue Basin John Day and all the little treasures we found on the way. We didn't ride horses but those who did helped solve real daily ranch problems.

Room Tip: The bathrooms are on the first floor and daylight basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Blue8235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We live just 20 miles from Wilson Ranches but had never been before. The Wilson's generously support the community often by donating overnight stays as auction items for local fundraisers. We purchased a night's stay and had a fabulous retreat and a real ranch experience. We stayed in the Pioneer Room. It was very clean and comfortable. I was amazed at how quiet the house was at night with everyone that stayed in the home. So peaceful! It was all about RnR for us. We went horseback riding with Brian and he had us attempt to help him rustle some cattle back through the fence. It's a good thing the horses knew what they were doing because I did not. Let's just say, Brian is very patient but watch out, he is quick witted too! We had a hearty breakfast served family style. Great conversation and we even had German chocolate birthday cake that a guest brought to celebrate her husband's birthday and Mother's Day. I will recommend a stay here to all whether you are traveling alone, as a couple or as a family.

Room Tip: Call ahead to discuss your room needs. Kara is great at placing you in the best room to suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suzieg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

When we first got there about 6:00 pm, we had a note waiting for us welcoming us at the front door entry. We noticed the kurig coffee was available so I did not hesitate and headed to our "Homestead" room. We had the most romantic room, very large for 2 but it had a fireplace and being from Hawaii, it was my husband's first time making a fire. He did a great job. Very romantic and relaxing. The breakfast was perfect, family style and we were with other guest, 4 ladies who we thoroughly enjoyed. Kara and hubby very friendly and we enjoyed our conversations on the table with them.

I would give this B & B a 5 but I was disappointed with the horseback riding we booked. I would suggest that if you like adventure and want to do more than walk a horse, don't go when it is raining. You will remain on a gravel road for one hour than turn about and head back. We know the heads of the trail walk were talking about the route but we were'nt told the end result which could have helped us make a better decision. We paid $70.00 each to walk a horse on a road. Oh well, lesson learned.

Room Tip: Far from everything else but worth the serenity
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Address: 15809 Butte Creek Ln, PO Box 274, Fossil, OR 97830-8339
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Fossil
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fossil
Price Range: €98 - €125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legendary pioneer hospitality awaits you at our Oregon bed and breakfast ranch near John Day, Oregon. At Wilson Ranches Retreat you will enjoy peaceful ranch environment rich in history. Live a day in the life of a cowboy or cowgirl on our 9,000 acre working cattle ranch in the beautiful Butte Creek Valley, three miles West of the small town of Fossil, Oregon. Relax and rejuvenate in the pristine ranch style guest rooms. Stunning sunsets, brilliant star-studded nights and the diverse flora and fauna of Fossil, Oregon will captivate you. At our Oregon guest ranch, lifetime memories are created on scenic horseback rides, cattle drives, hiking and ranch tours in a geologically and historically rich area with a magnificent view of the Cascade Mountain Range. Wilson Ranches Retreat is an exceptional place to headquarter your exploration of the John Day Fossil Beds National Monument, where you will discover the richest find of prehistoric fossils in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing