We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest folks in Oregon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clatskanie River Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clatskanie
Corbin, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendliest folks in Oregon!”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My wife and arrived at Clatskanie River Inn worn out and ready for bed. We had made a reservation through Magnuson Hotels. Apparently Magnuson gave the wrong price and it was supposed to be about $20 more for the room than we had expected. The young man at the counter was just learning the job, so he had to be helped by a more senior lady who had been in a conversation in the lobby....they were both the kindest people we could've possibly dealt with. She explained the entire process to both the trainee and to us and she gave us the room at the reserved price.

The rooms are very clean and spacious, the shower was great with plenty of pressure and hot water. The complimentary breakfast was hot and tasty, albeit the selection was limited and the lobby was fairly crowded at the time we chose to come down and eat.

All-in-all a great experience for us as we continued to explore the beauty of the Columbia River Gorge and the Oregon coast!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    21
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
26
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at the Clatskanie River Inn en route to a road trip down the Oregon Coast. It was perfectly situated a gateway to the coast: just a half-hour drive past the I-5 (turning off in Longview), which put us about 40 minutes from Astoria (on the coast) the next morning. The hotel is very clean and comfortable -- a little bit nicer than a Comfort Inn, maybe comparable to a Holiday Inn Express. The location (on a strip mall) isn't picturesque, so it's not a destination in itself, but it is a very comfortable place to stay if you are looking for a decent place to spend the night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

My husband planned an overnight getaway for Mother's Day and the Clatskanie River Inn was convenient on our travel route. When we arrived the friendly desk clerk warned us that the banquet room had been reserved for a child's birthday party and they were using the pool, so things on the first floor where our room was located could get noisy. She offered to find us another room upstairs, which ended up being larger and away from the noise. It worked out great. The room was spacious, clean, and had most everything we needed. Although located on the HWY we didn't really notice much noise, especially when we used the room fan unit. They could use a larger tv in the rooms, as the small set was not really suited to view from across the room, but it worked fine. They could also use some extra bedding, as there was only one blanket and no extra pillows. We had some trouble with the wifi, which was hard to connect and was slow. All in all, for the price we enjoyed the stay, however. The King bed was comfortable, there was a fridge and microwave, couch, coffee table, and chairs. The sink and grooming area is in the main bedroom, while the toilet and shower are in the bathroom. The closet is small but adequate. The decor is simple but tasteful.
The continental breakfast was a bit disappointing...the lobby and eating area are spacious, nicely decorated and well kept, but the assortment of foods was small. Bagels, apples, instant oatmeal, dry cereal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, tea and coffee. We ended up going out to breakfast at Colvin's Pub and Grill nearby, a hole in the wall where locals eat and the breakfast was great! Good prices and good food. The night before we had pizza at Fultano's Family Pizza Parlor within walking distance from the hotel and we'd definitely go there again. Good pizza!
There are few lodging choices in Clatskanie, so this one met our needs. Next time we might stay in Astoria where's the more to see and do.

Room Tip: Get a room away from pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed at the Clatskanie River Inn for two nights, between Christmas and New Year. We were travelling with our two dogs, having a quick getaway to explore Orgeon. This was a welcome find: clean rooms, very dog friendly (with only a $20 per stay fee for pets), great location for exploring Astoria, Seaside etc, and great value. Free parking and free wifi were a great bonus. We would happily stay here again when travelling.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BC-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Very hot day when arrived, turned on AC and set off smoke detector - Receptionist came quick, opened windows, set unit to "fan only" and air cleared in minutes. Extra pillows & blankets, and suitcase rack requests all answered quickly. Towels changed out every day, though we tried to stay GREEN. Bed linens we flagged GREEN and request honored. 2nd morning: My first time trying bacon flavored oatmeal.... I had ladled gravy on my cereal - my oops. Breakfasts offered were filling -- biscuits/gravy, English muffins, instant oatmeal, several cold cereals, juice, milk. Coffee/Hot water available 24/7. No time to try indoor pool/spa, but looked very clean. Easy walk to main street Nehalem. (Our east view was Parking-strip mall shops , west view would have Clatskanie River) Stay Again? YES. (will try to add photos later)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anaheim_Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clatskanie
20.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Longview
196 reviews
23.2 km away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Kelso/Longview
23.9 km away
Super 8 Kelso Longview Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 km away
Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
22.1 km away
Best Western Aladdin Inn
0.2 km away
Northwoods Inn
Northwoods Inn
#1 of 2 in Clatskanie
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clatskanie River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clatskanie River Inn

Property: Clatskanie River Inn
Address: 600 East Columbia River Highway, Clatskanie, OR 97016-2234
Region: United States > Oregon > Clatskanie
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clatskanie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — Clatskanie River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Clatskanie River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clatskanie River Hotel Clatskanie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing