We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (870)
Filter reviews
870 results
Traveller rating
482
177
63
50
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
482
177
63
50
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room stained glass ceiling high ceilings cupola suite third floor restored hotel lobster turn of the century tall windows step back in time gift shop corner room prime rib foot ceilings four poster bed gold rush main street
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 870 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We love historic hotels. I have been in the hotel business for 40 years and I am on the Landmarks Commission in our town in central Washington. After seeing signs along the freeway about the historic district and this hotel in particular, we left the freeway to see the hotel with the possibility of staying the night. Upon entering the lobby (2:45PM today) we were told by the rudest front desk staffer that I have ever encountered, that we were not actually allowed past the entry way if we were not guests and that we could not even see the lobby and my wife was told that we could not take any photos in the lobby. The only way we could experience the hotel past the front entry without being guests was to go to the bar. In my career I have never encountered anyone less appropriate for their position. After the greeting, I left the hotel with no intention of ever returning, much less checking in. Doesn't matter how great the facility is if the people are indifferent and rude.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
6  Thank stevet2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeiserGrand, Manager at Geiser Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed. The privacy of our guests is paramount. If you venture beyond the lobby/front desk area, you are immediately in the Palm Court, looking up to guest rooms and suites. They have an expectation of privacy that we respect. While we are not able to accommodate non-guests who want to explore the interior of the Geiser Grand un-escorted, we do offer guided tours, with prior reservation. In addition to tours and staying overnight, we also invite all to experience the Geiser Grand in the following ways: Enjoy affordable food and beverage; in the 1889 and by reservation nightly in the Palm Court, browse the Gift Shop, stop by and say hello to us at the Front Desk, in the lobby. Otherwise, you are quite right, the interior is restricted to guests only.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We stayed here on a recent trip through Hells Canyon. I am so glad that we got the chance to stay here. We stayed in the famed room 302. This is the room under the clock tower on the 3rd floor. That room is amazing. We had an awesome breakfast via room service and had a great view out of the cupola windows. The lay out of the room is just wonderful. The hotel has so much history and is celebrated proudly. The personnel are great. We also had an excellent dinner as well and the waitress was so wonderful. I want to go back already!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 63impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeiserGrand, Manager at Geiser Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

A wonderful old hotel from the gold mining days. Nicely restored with comfortable amenities. The restaurant has interesting choices, well prepared...but be warned that they tend to heavily salt their food. Ask them not to if you don't like heavy salt.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Seth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeiserGrand, Manager at Geiser Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This restored hotel is a jewel in the middle of Eastern Oregon. Great service (front desk just the right balance of personable and efficient), excellent room (luxury mattress, high ceiling, very quiet), centrally located, worth every pfennig!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank 745akif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeiserGrand, Manager at Geiser Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

What a great find! We were so happy with our stay and the history of the hotel and the staff is amazing. Dinner exceeded our expectations and we will definitely come back! Many art shops and antiques worth a nice walk

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeiserGrand, Manager at Geiser Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews