We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely French experience with fresh ingredients” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of French Hen

French Hen
Ranked #152 of 1,301 Restaurants in Tulsa
Price range: US$10 - US$42
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 71st and Yale
Description: For over 30 years, the French Hen Bistro and Wine Bar has presented classic French cuisine, prime steaks and fresh seafood, with a wine list to match. Known not only for special occasions and casual nights out, the French Hen hosts business functions and parties in its private dining room. Look for the lighthouse at 71st and Yale.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely French experience with fresh ingredients”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The French Hen is tucked away in a little shopping center on 71st. We visited on a Tuesday night; when we arrived at 7:00 it was a little empty but by 8:00 had filled up. We enjoyed the little complimentary "amuse bouche" presented at the start of the meal. We started with the fresh asparagus soup, creamy but not too thick, infused with the flavor of the vegetable. The grilled duck breast was served with two tasty sauces and cooked perfectly; served on a HEATED plate (this alone gives kudos to the chef, such an important touch.) We also had the Red Pepper Alfredo with chicken, which was perfectly spicy and a nice change from the traditional (it was a little too spicy for my 89 year old mother but she enjoyed it.) We ended with the tasty banana bread pudding. The owner was present and very solicitous; the wait staff very attentive. Great place for a special dinner and a pleasant evening.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cal_Travel_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    22
    4
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“When you can't be in France...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Go to the French Hen! The food is as good as being in Paris. If you want to bless someone take them there. Reservations are a good idea.

Helpful?
1 Thank LisaC1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Nice and Cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

The food, atmosphere, and service is always first class. We go back all of the time.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank RLT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“The food was good, service delightful, decor tired with wobbly tables.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I took a prospect to French Hen because it is close to his office and close to my lodging. So the location is good if you are in the Warren Place area of Tulsa. We sat at two different tables, both of which were wobbly. Why is it that nice old restaurants have such crappy infrastructure? The place was empty on a Wednesday at lunch, which was depressing.

The service was very nice - really liked the waiter. We each had a special. My guest had the special salad and I had the special catch. Both were wonderful and of nice, sane proportions. Frankly, I gobbled my food down.

I would rate the restaurant better, if it weren't for those annoying tables. I am not sure I would go back, either.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeenAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife and I recently returned to the French Hen for a wedding anniversary luncheon. The food and service are first rate and a made a great choice for a special occasion. The entrance is located on an interior courtyard of the Lighthouse Shopping Center and can be accessed from any of four directions. I find the most convenient parking on the west side.

The menu is French Bistro. The Fried Oysters on creamed spinach with Pernod made a delightful start and the Beef Bourguignon En Croute I had was excellent. My wife was quite happy with the Pan Seared Trout. The Espresso Chocolate Mousse was out of the world good!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T-Town_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed French Hen also viewed

 

Been to French Hen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing