We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect walking distance to Clifton Mill.”
other travellers have booked this property
Early Fall 2014
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Early Fall 2014
Everyone Welcome!! Bedroom on second floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Early Fall 2014
Everyone Welcome!!
Bedroom on second floor
Cabins' kitchen
Bed on first floor
Comfortable sitting  next to the kitchen/ open floor area
New bathroom
First floor bed with steps to upper bdrm,/game room
Game and library area
A view from the cabin porch
Looking across our small pond towards the front of the cabin
A few of our beautiful plants
In the garden looking back towards the cabin
More flowers!
Paths through the garden
Fox gloves
The cabin from our house
Hummingbird moths enjoying the menarda(bee balm)
Another view of the 'garden' cabin
Lily in the garden
Freshly painted
across the pond
Garden flowers
Garden
bench by pond
Garden setting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Yellow Springs, Ohio

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shawna H
Defiance, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect walking distance to Clifton Mill.”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

This was great walking distance to The Mill where we viewed the Christmas lights as well as ate breakfast the next morning. My sister in law lives in Clifton where our kids ended up staying so my husband and I had to place to ourselves. I would stay here again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the cabin and we hope to host you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mindebj20...
Spencer, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible experience!!!!”
Reviewed 9 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Big mistake. The place had a bad odor and the water smelled like rotten eggs. Couldn't take a shower or brush our teeth due to the ordor of the water. We were supposed to stay 2 nights but could barley make it through one. We tried getting ahold of the owner to let him know our issues we were having but he did not return our call until 4pm. By then we booked us a hotel in Springfield. He was ruded and very unprofessional. He also hung up on me 3 times when I brought that I didn't think it was fare to charge me for the second day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2017
Debra,
We are very sorry that you were displeased with the cabin. When you arrived you stated the pleasantness of the cabin. From the time you checked in until the next morning we were available until 10:00a.m.as we then had to leave for a family emergency. We are always happy to make sure that our guests are comfortable. However leaving the cabin with the windows open and the furnace running on a cold wintry day and taking the cabin key with you was not the best way to handle the situation. When I arrived home and received your many messages I checked the cabin for odors and found none. The sulfur water from the hot water tank only has a smell for a couple of minutes after it has set for over 24 hours without being run. We do have a sign in the cabin to inform our guest of this. During the first 16 hours of your stay, we were available for you to inform us of the "issues" you were experiencing. We deeply regret that your stay was unsatisfactory. Sulfur water is common in many areas and our water is filtered twice before entering the cabin. When sulfur water is heated and left without being run it has a slight odor to it, therefore we ALWAYS drain the water heater before each guest arrives to assure that the water is fresh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onthebeac...
Bronx, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The owners Ken and Rob were very accommodating from the initial booking until our check out. Very accessible during the booking process. Upon arrival all aspects of the cabin were explained and any questions answered. After the check in privacy was the key aspect of my stay. No issues whatsoever. Quiet street that has a little bit of traffic in the day. Super clean and nice home aromas add a special touch. The only reason for the four and not five stars is as another reviewer pointed out the well water has a sulfur content. If you are not used to it it can be a bit of a turn off. I brushed my teeth with bottled water. In the shower the smell was not as noticeable as when you ran water in either sink. Full kitchen setup is available although I did not cook in. Nice small quiet town. Large room upstairs with curtains around the two beds for a limited amount of privacy. Kitchen, sitting area and bed downstairs. Again curtains around bed for limited privacy. Small well maintained garden at your door as is the parking area. Overall a very nice rental for a modest price.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thanks for the great review. Our water is filtered twice and is very safe and good for consumption. Only in the cabin the hot water sits for a longer time in the heated tank giving it a sulfur smell. As the water is run for a bit, the water looses that smell. Unfortunately the water often sits for 24 hours without being circulated. Simply running the hot water for a few minutes does eliminate this smell. We do not get this smell in our resident home which is located on the same property and is the well source for the cabin. We encourage that anyone who has issues during their stay to contact us immediately; we may have an immediate remedy.
Sincerely
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim O
Newcomerstown, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cool Quaint Cabin!”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I was in town for the Buckeye Trail Association TrailFest at the Boy Scout Camp Bird virtually a 3 minute car drive from Clifton.
The Clifton Cabin is a charming eclectic barn/cabin renovation with 3 double/queen beds. Each bed has a privacy curtain around them, so you could have a bit more privacy if you have several couples. There are two double beds upstairs and one on the main level, which also has the privacy curtains.
Both levels are decorated nicely with plenty of seating. There is a kitchen with toaster, full stove, microwave, coffee machine, hot water pot, and plenty of kitchen utenstils and more! than you would ever need.
The AC and heat worked great! which was needed in both the same weekend of spring in Ohio!
Only two caveats: There is no TV, which is *not a bad thing* but just wanted to mention.
The second is the water supply. I'm assuming it is well water, which has a sulfur smell to it. It it fine to drink and bathe in, but if you have never experienced it, perhaps it might be off putting to some. I had no problem myself with the smell.

There are lovely gardens, with a firepit, and the home owners encourage you to come out and explore the gardens.

This was a nice relaxing place to retire to, if you are out hiking or visiting the Yellow Springs or Clifton Gorge Preserve, I would stay here again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
Thank you Kim. We are glad that you've enjoyed your time here at the Cabin!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyTole...
Toledo, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quiet Retreat”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My husband and I stayed several nights for a retreat to rest and relaxation. The cabin was quiet and roomy. Very clean and well appointed with everything you need. So close to the mill, Gorge ( don't miss it!), Yellowsprings. The Clifton Opera House is just around the corner and we enjoyed a Bluegrass concert with the locals. Thank you for providing this quaint place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2017
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here at the cabin and that you've found a few of the things that help make the area such a fine place to be. We hope to see you again when you are seeking to get away for a few days. The trails and the garden here at the cabin are even more inviting during the warmer seasons.
Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing