We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Sure It Is A 5 Star/Circle But...”
Review of Vaqueiros

Vaqueiros
Ranked #17 of 156 Restaurants in Westerville
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 April 2017

I don't think I have every given 5 stars to a fast food restaurant. I am not so sure I should give Vaqueiros a 5 but I will. The Fetching Mrs. Rat encouraged me to do so as did Jrat's #3 & 4. We all agree that Vaqueiros is far better than the Chipotle/Qdoba/Hot Head/Moe's type restaurant.
The service is great, the food is fresh and very tasty. The carnitas are what Chipolte used to serve. The area is spacious and we didn't feel crowded on a Friday night. I like that they encourage you to sample the meats and salsas before you choose you food. The assortment of drinks is vast. TFMR spotted one of our old favorites, SQUIRT! This was the real deal, bottled in Mexico. The bottled drinks are in a huge bin, packed in ice by the line where you order.
The cat who owns the joint is Manuel, he was on the food line. He came and cleared our table. He also was behind the bar. He sports a wicked good handlebar mustache.
One ding, you need to use a slotted spoon for the beans. There was too much liquid with my pinto beans. You gots to drain the beans before you serve them!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johnnyrat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manuel l, Manager at Vaqueiros, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

The only problem you had with the beans were not well drain has been fixed due to the spoon that needed to have biger drain holes but always love to hear and update the big problems. Muchas gracias amigo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

This new joint from the people behind el Vaqueiro is a great surprise. I'm not a fan of the "el's" but this sibling will become a regular for us. The staff were super friendly and let us try several of the meats before we made our selections. We were there tacos and they were excellent - steak, birria, carnitas and chicken for us. The flavors reminded me of some of my favorite hole-in-the-walls in the southwest. And the homemade chips came really close to the kind I grew up with in west Texas (unsalted and with a sweet corn taste). It was a ratatouille moment for me. I hope they are successful and open more locations.

Thank betona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manuel l, Manager at Vaqueiros, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

We at vaqueiros focus in introducing the main types of meats were they originated in Mexico with the same ingredients to meet the quality of flavors. We thank you amigo!
We thank the investers of el vaquero for making this fast casual serve come to westerville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

On this 60 degree February Friday night, my GF and I were hankering for a margarita and, after probably passing this joint 50 times previously, pulled in and...was blown away. Seat at the bar and not only was the service fantastic but, the margaritas were tremendous.

My GF and I both got bowls (think chipotle) and they were fresh and very flavorful. In conversation with our great bartender, he gave me a sample of the al pastor (definitely on the list for next visit) and I also got to try a few of the tequila offerings.

The only downside - after some fun/spirited conversation with the manager - was the fact that the $12.99 "21 ounce Jumbo" margaritas are actually served in 16 ounce glasses with lots of ice despite the large printed sign above the bar touting $12.99 21 oz. Jumbo margaritas. I actually got them to bring a measuring glass from the kitchen to prove the point and they were sheepishly (And I believe genuinely) unaware that they were engaging in false advertising....serving 7 oz of Margaritas in 16 oz glasses for $13 while advertising 21 oz - none of which was my goal that night. (I was more embarrassed thinking I'd drank 21oz x 3 margaritas until I realized there was no effin way those glasses were 21 oz and sure enough, I was right).

Nevertheless, I highly recommend. Manuel the manager was/is a class act and the food is really strong.

Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manuel l, Manager at Vaqueiros, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

I do thank you for coming out to try us out after driving by 50 times. I did acknowledge the problem in the way I learned from a mistake i did not see. We got new cup glasses from our beer sponsors but never even measured the new cups in which we previously served them in our 21oz plastic cups. I saw they looked the same. I do see the down side of that. I have fix that big problem mediately the same moment that's occur. I have done the up date mediately. I always love to hear form problems I run into and make updates as soon as they happen. Thank you again for taking your time and trying us out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

vs. Chipotle. Same concept (select options, plated, pay and seat yourself), more selections to choose from with respect to meats, salsas, other ingredients. Additionally, full service bar and a happy hour. Bonus! Definitely worth a try.

Thank Cll9999x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manuel l, Manager at Vaqueiros, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

The theory is the same just like other fast casual serve places and alway like to make sure we meet our true style of our main region meat ingredients with the right flavor. we thank you amigo and hop to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

The perfect Brazilian taste in York.
The food was great and the staff are friendly and funny. Excellent place to eat good food with friends or family.

Thank Nilma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manuel l, Manager at Vaqueiros, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias amigo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vaqueiros also viewed

 
Westerville, OH
 

Been to Vaqueiros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing