We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet and Relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Red Cabin

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Scio, Ohio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dan S
Donegal, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Quiet and Relaxing”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My wife and I went here for a weekend anniversary getaway. This was a really nice cabin directly across from a lake. The cabin and hot tub were very nice. The bed is up in a loft which was pretty cool too. You use a very solid rustic wood ladder to get up there. I had no issue, but it was a little challenge for my shorter wife. If you visit while having some health issue it might be a little challenging. The cabin is somewhat secluded, though you will see some other folks now and again that come to the lake from the other cabins.

There are really nice fish in the lake (and a lot of them). You can pay to feed/fish if you like. Would be great to have the young ones there. Seeing their faces catching some of those monsters would make for great memories.

Their location was only a 2 hour drive for us - perfect for a weekend trip. We did eat out one evening in Dennison at a place called The Yard (I think). The food was very good.

All in all - a very nice weekend trip. We'd definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cabins had a fresh wood smell. Hot tub was very nice.
Liked least: Shower stall was very small.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifers...
Delaware, Ohio
2 reviews
“A very relaxing stay”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Traveled with my spouse and our 7 year old. Even though the weather was cold and rainy, the cabin was warm and inviting. Cozy and a great getaway from the holiday rush. We loved the hot tub and the dinning table was big enough for games and a lego project. Hope to see it again when the weather cooperates so that we can better enjoy the beautiful scenery and the pond.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
We are thrilled that you chose to spend a little post holiday time with your family at our Old Red Cabin! We wish that you all would have had some fresh fallen snow to frolick in....instead of cold wet rain. The weather has been so unusual this winter. Glad you thought ahead and brought some Legos to work on while hanging out inside.
Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay with us and we hope that you will consider visiting us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake M
1 review
“Amazing Retreat”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights to celebrate her birthday. She really wanted to find a secluded and peaceful retreat to get away from the city, and this was everything she wanted and more. We walked into the cabin and were hit with the warming scent of cedar and the glow from the Amish fireplace in the lofted bedroom. There was noone else staying at Diamond Lake, but even if there were, we wouldn't have had to see anyone while we were there if we didn't want to! Each of the cabins is nice and private. We couldn't have felt more refreshed after relaxing in the huge hot tub and grilling some great private dinners before retiring to the loft.
Old Red has everything you need for your stay, and the setting is beautiful and rustic. Take the two hour drive from Columbus, it's easy and you will not regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a nice relaxing cabin”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

So happy we found this cabin. Not expensive and had everything we were looking for. Owner was very nice and there is so much detail to the cabin. Love that its hand built with real wood. Bed was really comfortable. Hot tub was amazing. Cant wait to come back in the summer

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for your kind and very detailed description of your experience at our Old Red Cabin! We are so happy that your retreat proved to be everything you had hoped for! We do hope you will visit us again when you are in need of some R&R.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H
1 review
“Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

After looking at a lot of different cabins we decided on this and we were very glad we did! The Rustic theme and layout was awesome the view from the hot tub while it was snowing was beautiful. It is a great place to go for a nice getaway and we plan on going back in the summer on a family vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the Rustic atmosphere
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$199
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing