We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plusses for the food, minuses for service”

Baci Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Baci Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 200 Restaurants in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Junction US250 & RT2
Description: Baci Restaurant & Bar is an Italian fine dining restaurant and nightclub located in the heart Lake Erie Shores & Islands of Sandusky, Ohio. Born & raised in Italy, Carmelo Ruta, Executive Chef, in the kitchen, Baci Restaurant & Bar combines the best of old and new world thinking, to create a wonderful full-flavored and well-rounded menu.
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Went to Baci early on a Saturday evening, and the service was borderline awful. Had to wait 10 minutes for someone to even bring menus, then my wine was served in a dirty glass with a prominent lipstick smudge on the rim. The food (when it eventually arrived) was acceptable, but the whole place seemed disorganized on a night when you would expect a fine dining establishment to put their best foot forward.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KeysAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baci Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

We're sorry to hear that your experience didn't match the vast majority of our other guest experiences. Clearly, we DID NOT put our best foot forward based on your review and we hope you'll come back and give us another shot in the future. If you decide to take us up on our offer, please let your server know about your previous experience and I can ASSURE you, you will be taken care of with the best care possible!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2018

We went with a group of woman and everyone enjoyed their meal. It did take a little bit of time to get our food, but we just enjoyed our time together. Most of us had the Lake Erie Perch for our meal and it was wonderful. One of the group had a large salad and the other had Chicken Parm and everyone enjoyed their meal. I would easily recommend this, but you cannot be in a hurry.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kathydomestic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baci Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

You just cannot hurry perfection :) As you're probably aware, none of our dishes are pre-prepared; they're all cooked-to-order with Italian love and affection. While there may be a bit of a wait, it sounds as if you agree that it's well worth it. We don't just offer food; we offer a dining EXPERIENCE--one that is unparalleled within a 60 mile radius--and some would say, we're the best between NYC and Chicago! Thanks for joining us; we hope you come back and dine with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Both of us ordered the tenderloin, which was perfectly cooked. We were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was. The decor is kind of a kick— Baci’s is billed as a night club. Too bad we weren’t there on a weekend night when there’d be dancing. The bubble tower next to the bar added to our enjoyment. We’d go back in a heartbeat .

Thank imcosmopolitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baci Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

We're thrilled to hear that your expectations were shattered and that you enjoyed our one of a kind "Baci Experiences" with us! We hope you'll hurry back for round two--and please DO visit us on a weekend night for some funky "dining and dancing!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Good Italian food, salads, chicken and seafood dishes, huge portions, popular with locals, in hotel ...good pizza too cocktails are excellent. Popular for group events and good to community.

Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baci Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

We're glad that you enjoyed your experience and that your expectations were exceeded. While the decor is a bit eclectic, we think it adds to the ambiance. Hurry back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

I recommended Baci to my family based on its #4 of 152 restaurant ranking on TA. Most of the reviews were positive. I am really confused by this. Baci is in the back of a Comfort Inn and has decor stuck in the ‘70s and an odd smell.Service was friendly but sporadic. We went super early, just after 5pm, in order to be able to go to a movie after dinner. Apparently, the cook was more concerned about providing the free appetizers than preparing paying customer orders because we waited for more than 45+ minutes for our salads only to find out that nothing had been started - not salads or entrees. We were told the cook was “slammed” which was pretty funny given there was only one other table. Unfortunately, we had to leave without eating. So can’t comment on the food. This was a first. Ate popcorn for dinner at the theatre.

1  Thank Deborah Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baci Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

We're sorry to hear about your less than stellar experience. While there may have only been one visible table in the restaurant, the kitchen DOES also serve a 200 room hotel as well as a private dining area. I'm not saying that this is an excuse--or even that this happened--just that it COULD have been part of the reason for your unusually long wait. And to clarify, the restaurant is on the front side of the hotel--not tucked in the back. The restaurant was also built in the 90's with some recent additions--so we're unclear where the reference to the 70's plays a role. At any rate, we'd love it if you would come back and give us another shot to give you the amazing experience that 99% of our other guests report!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Baci Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing