We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
33
42
19
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
42
19
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean breakfast bar portsmouth area sausage patties tv reception would stay again staff was friendly light sleeper little things we've stayed desk shawnee repair ohio tub hallway cereal
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Check in was fine. The room was nice. Good WiFi. TV was fine with an okay selection of channels. The bedding was clean, soft and had no stains. Towels were clean and had no stains. There was a fridge but no microwave. The room was slanted, literally. The floor in the bathroom had separated from the wall leaving a large gap. Standing in the main doorway, you could see the slant as you looked towards the window. Our room faced the Hwy and we can only assume the hotel has some shifting/structural issues....whatever the problem, it made one of us feel very "off" and dizzy. That was our experience. Some may not even notice. We had our do not disturb sign up until we were in need of a refresh. Housekeeping came in after 4 nights and did not change the sheets, just made the beds. Guess we assumed we'd get fresh sheets after that long and considering we had 3 more nights to stay. Towels were replenished however. Parking was very tight! Most mornings when we left, the lot was over full! If you have a work truck or trailer, arrive early or good luck! Rooms facing the Hwy have all the Hwy noise and trains! Sometimes the trains can be very loud. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room facing the back.

We would stay again if in town. Overall it was fine. Maybe just a different room off the other wing away from the Hwy.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank ftblchic76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Smith_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you for allowing other travelers to experience your stay at our quality inn. We do recommend an interior room if you are light sleepers, however the view of the valley is beautiful. Sometimes if you are lucky you will see the eagles soar. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

We try to stop in a different halfway point each time we drive north. We chose Portsmouth because of it being on the river thinking there would be a Riverwalk or cafés along the water. There is not so that was a disappointment, but this Quality Inn was not a disappointment. The room was spacious, very clean, lots of hot water, and the linens and bed were perfectly comfortable. Little things like French vanilla creamer on the breakfast bar were found, many smaller hotels do not provide the creamers and they also have the morning newspaper. You won't be disappointed with your stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bethann711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Smith_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you for sharing with others of your visit to Portsmouth Ohio. A history fact that we do not have shops that will give you a view of the Ohio River. In 1937 our entire valley was flooded and to protect our community from future flooding a flood wall was constructed. In the 1990's our community flood wall took on a different look. This is when the murals began to be painted on the walls, which give our visitors an education on our rich heritage. We hope that on your next visit that you have time to take in the beautiful art that has brought thousands of visitors to our community. We at Quality Inn are glad that you stayed with our hotel and we do hope you have time for a longer visit next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

So, I've stayed here a few times, and I suspect I've written a review over a year ago. This facility has really declined in performance all around in the last 18 months. First, it's dirty. Mud on the floors and stairwells. I stayed for three nights... same thing every morning and evening. When I checked in, I found the bathroom in my room was in dire need of a sweeping. Insulation everywhere, on the counter, on the commode, on the floor..... Went to the front desk and mentioned it (politely, yes). They literally handed me a battery powered "broom" so I could clean it myself. Paint peeling on the bathroom walls, a ceiling fan in the bath that appeared to be ready to fall off. (no, they weren't full, not even close). The entire second floor seemed to smell of cigarette smoke, frankly.

The ice machine's disappeared from the second floor, necessitating a bit of a hike back to the middle of the 1st floor (no stairs in the middle of the facility.

It simply is not being taken care of / maintained.

Anyway, I've always enjoyed staying here on business in the past, but it may be time for me to look for alternatives in the future.

The bright spot - the breakfasts are VERY good, well above your average "Comfort Inn" quality.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank D J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Smith_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

We appreciate all feedback regarding our Quality Inn of Portsmouth Ohio. We use all feedback for training purposes. We do have a lot of construction crews here at our hotel. The housekeeping staff and front desk staff do their best to keep the mud cleaned. If you prefer 1st floor rooms we will gladly accommodate you to that area so that your crew wouldn't have to climb the stairs or come down the hall to the elevator. We understand that you may choose to go to another hotel and we can recommend other for you. Our housekeeping staff work hard at keeping a clean hotel and keep making improvements in our scores. We once again apologize for your stay.

Sharon Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We were surprised how nice it was. I was leary about going there since we had unpleasant experiences before it got taken over and changed to the Quality Inn.
It is now clean and comfortable. The only thing we noticed was that the tub had been repaired and just didn't appear clean even though it was, and the shears on the window had tears in them.

Room Tip: first floor room at the end of the hall. was quiet and smoke free
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Smith_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Thank you for choosing the Quality Inn of Portsmouth. We realize that our hard work is beginning to show and that we all take pride in our hotel. We are looking forward to spring so please book early either on our Choice hotels reservation or by calling the hotel direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Front desk person was very helpful and friendly. We will stay again ...we pass through Portsmouth on way to visit family. The rate is VERY fair and property/room was very clean. The room we stayed in was a 'pet room' because we travel with our small dog. The tub faucet was loose and should be repaired. Room was to accommodate handicapped. We are not handicapped, but guess that is all that was left for that evening. Again, everything was CLEAN...that's what matters! Thank you for a comfortable stay.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank ewe2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Smith_GM, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers. We are pet friendly and charge a one time fee for your pet to travel with you. I have passed your information on to the various departments so they will use this information for training. We believe in giving our Quality service from the front desk to the entire house. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews