We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$185
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/07/21
Travelocity
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$185
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
183
119
40
24
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
183
119
40
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool ping pong hill lake covered bridge fire pit view from the dining room great weekend public areas rooms were very clean woods canoeing fireplace sauna lyons
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2021

As always, great stay! Honeymooned there 34 hrs ago and always go back anniversary weekend. Clean room, excellent service, all accommodations were great. Restaurant was a smidge overpriced for what they served, but good food and service. Bar was nice too. Very scenic views of lake and lots of walking trails around lodge. Remote location equals wildlife and scenery! See you next anniversary!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank andrewhG2241VW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Weirick, General Manager at Mohican Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2021

Thank you for being our guest at Mohican Lodge and for taking the time to write your review. We truly appreciate it! Congratulations on your 34th anniversary and we look forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021

Stayed 2 nights. Senior couple. Had lots of issues with this trip and let them know on a review. Never heard back from Management. Make sure you take your confirmation papers for check-in to insure you get the type of room you reserved. Only one electrical outlet available for breathing machine and had to remove light bulbs to use it. Items (tissues, wrappers) under the bed. Water trickled in shower. Failed to make up the room after the first night and had to call in the evening for them to service it. Very limited restaurant menu. Cannot charge meals to room. All machines out of bottled water and none to purchase since the store was only opened a couple of hours on our first day. Wanted first floor and handicapped parking close to the room. Didn't happen. Second floor and extensive walking from auto to room. Definitely needs some modernization. Probably could have prevented our negative review if any Management would have contacted us back regarding the issues but NONE ever did.

Room tip: Try to get room as close to front as possible because buildings B and C have several stairways to manipulate yourselves and luggage.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FremontDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Weirick, General Manager at Mohican Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2021

Thank you for being our guest at Mohican Lodge and for taking the time to give your honest feedback. I am sorry that you have not received my response to your comment card, as it has already been sent. As you booked your stay on line, I will certainly follow up on why your comments for first floor or an accessible room were not forwarded. We did give you a free upgrade due to the confusion regarding your Rise and Dine package. Due to Covid protocols as with many other hotels, we are only doing stayover service upon request at the front desk.

I will be addressing your concerns with the appropriate department and thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2020 via mobile

We stayed 1 night for a quick getaway. We found the setting tk be just gorgeous. We were given a room with a small balcony that looked into the wooded area. The room was basic, clean and slightly dated, but in keeping with the rustic feel of the area. The mattresses in our room were HARD! I woke up with a backache! The reservation process was great, handled by a front desk person who was quite accommodating and made sure we had a good price. We opted for the Savvy Senior bundle with breakfast. We were a little surprised to find that the dining room doesn't start serving breakfast til 8 am... we are pretty early risers, do would have liked an earlier time. The view from the dining room overlooking the lake is stunning.The indoor pool area was nice, outdoor pool was closed due to the season. We enjoyed sitting around the community fire pit, which is free. You can rent a private one , but it's fun to meet new folks.
All in all this would be a do over ( i will bring a memory foam mattress pad...lol)

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank mamallama1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Weirick, General Manager at Mohican Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2020

Thank you for being our guest at Mohican Lodge! I am glad you got to take advantage of our Savvy Senior Bed O& Breakfast package. It is a great value! Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2020

Set in the prestine woods of Perrysville, Mohican makes a nice "getaway". Lots of trails nearby also. Not sure this would qualify as a "resort" however as there are no organized activities. The rooms, though clean, left a lot to be desired also. Bathrooms were tiny and very much in need of updating--reminded me more of a Red Roof than a "resort". Not sure I would go back--just not enough to do--particularly in the Fall or Winter when the outdoor pool is closed. Also, though located adjacent to a large lake, there was no water access or beach. Pretty much of a waste.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Weirick, General Manager at Mohican Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2020

We appreciate you being our guest and for taking the time to write a review! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2020

Chose this location based on availability and proximity to Bellville. We arrived late in the evening and were given directions to our room through the lobby with a luggage cart, found we were unable to get there without going up stairs, this is after taking an elevator down as the clerk directed.I'm still confused over that, but it was late and we were all tired. Thankfully, there was another luggage cart at the top of the steps, so we transferred everything up to that one and went on. That was a frustration.

Also, pool times (per the front desk) were over and it was closed, disappointing my children, but as we walked by the indoor pool we found several people enjoying theirselves. Since we'd observed a party of formally dressed people, we thought perhaps it'd been reserved, but after asking a couple of people later we discovered it was not. Again, disappointed children.

The most annoying aspect of the room was that it took two of us to open the sliding door to let some air in, only to find that the balcony looks out over the closed outdoor pool and the outside stairwell immediately below Room 111 is a smoker's corner. So we choked on the cigarette smoke wafting into our room. Forget the fresh air.

Overall, I would say the frustration with the luggage trolley, the pool times/misinformation, the difficult night of sleep (because those beds do NOT feel like queen size) and then the smoke issue made us regret spending over $200 for a night here, even with a AAA discount. The noise of doors banging all night and people carrying on in the hallways past 2am didn't help.

I'm not sure about the other rooms, but I can tell you that Room 111 does NOT look as nice as the ones in the photo, and the toilet paper holder is hanging sideways off the wall into the trash bin. I can't imagine that housekeeping could've missed seeing that. Oh, and travelers beware, this location uses communal soaps, lotions, shampoo/conditioner, etc. that are attached to the wall in the shower and by the room sink. I understand taking care of the environment, but in the age of COVID, we are all sharing toiletries?
Another warning - the ice buckets leak. We left ours sitting on the dresser at the end of the bed overnight. We woke up to find it had leaked and water ran all across the top of the dresser, my iPad (thankfully in a case and seems to be undamaged), and the power cord charger box was in a puddle of water, the tv base was surrounded by water, all the papers we'd laid on the dresser, as well as our clothes we'd laid out for the day. Cheers for packing extra clothes.

I spoke with the front desk clerk as we checked out and her only response was to write down my comments about the door and the smoking and say "Well, that's no good."
She was right, it was no good. We will not be coming back.

Room tip: Room 111 is lousy.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PBJFraley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura Weirick, General Manager at Mohican Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mohican Lodge. Guest feedback is the best tool we have to identify the areas in need of improvement.

I would like to apologize for the disappointments you experienced with your recent stay. We will be investigating the pool and smoking issues you mention. We constantly strive for exceptional customer service and it seems that we may have fallen short of our goals. Guest experiences such as yours prompt us to constantly be reminded of our commitment to excellence in guest services.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please email me at lweirick@greatohiolodges.com. In the meantime, I will be sure to share your thoughts with our Front Office Manager, Chief Engineer and our Housekeeping Manager. We will certainly take into account this information and make improvements where we can. Again, we appreciate your time. We wish you the best in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews