We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$162
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/06/21
Expedia.com
US$162
US$152
View deal
SAVE US$10
Free cancellation until 26/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
US$162
US$152
View deal
SAVE US$10
Free cancellation until 26/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
Hotels.comUS$152
FindHotelUS$152
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
14
11
3
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
11
3
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews girls weekend wood beams pool and hot tub front desk clerk upon check beautiful hotel would definitely stay here again next morning water park gazebo lobby pond furniture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

This was the perfect night getaway for me and my husband! We had room 145 and it was a great size with a beautiful view of the gazebo and water! We were able to walk around and then pop right back into our room! The bed was SO comfortable, I could have stayed there all day. The bathroom was huge too!

We ate at the craftsman restaurant and it was delicious and not busy at! We went to the pool and hot tub and both were very clean and nice! It has a ton of windows and doors that open so it’s probably even better in the summer! We loved the set up of the hotel, there were so many areas to sit and hang out, play cards, or enjoy a drink by the fire. Outside had plenty of areas to sit as well. Perfect place to go with a group! I would definitely stay here again it was beautiful and reasonably priced!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank H5408BFangelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian black, General Manager at Cherry Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2020

Thank you for staying at the Cherry Valley Hotel. We would also like to thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are so happy to hear you found the overall hotel and service to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you travel to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2020 via mobile

Our first night, had to be moved to another room because our room's thermostat didn't work. No biggie, but our second room - you couldn't close the bathroom door without lifting the toilet seat... (yep, I typed that correctly - room 185 if you don't believe me). At least the thermostat worked, even if we did have to listen to loud, rattling pipes all night as it ran. Tried going to dinner on site that night (website would leave you to believe there are multiple restaurants; there's not, there's one and a 'tap house' which apparently just serves drinks.) No bother, but the restaurant was closed for a private party, and the tap house was closed "because the bartender had an emergency and they couldn't get ahold of anyone else to come in." OK. Day 2. Find out in the morning they have no bottled water available for purchase. Pool/hot tub - looks pretty old and worn to me, despite all the website's talk of all the new renovations. Pool had no jets running, just standing water in an old cement hole. Hot tub was luke warm, no jets (the jet heads were removed, just holes in the side wall). Called to see if they could turn the heat up in it, said they'd send maintenance. 2 hours later, no one came. Oh, and if you do use the pool, bring a bath towel from the room because the towels they have in the pool area are the size of hand towels. Almost forgot to mention our comforter that had a fresh stain of (what I'm hoping was food..) on it, you could tell it had not been through the wash.

Very disappointed, thinking I was going to spend the weekend in an upscale establishment and relax. Website indicates new renovations and refreshes; I didn't see it. And the botanical gardens, laughable.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank laurasW8425NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian black, General Manager at Cherry Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2020

Thank you for choosing the Cherry Valley Hotel on your recent visit. We strive to provide gracious, engaging and caring service and sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry for the issues that you encountered during your visit. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We will share your experience with our hotel leadership team and address and correct these unacceptable issues promptly. Thank you again for your feedback.
Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2020 via mobile

Me and my husband visited there Labor Day weekend Friday and Saturday and were so disappointed. We travel to Newark every other month to visit our grandchildren. We have always stayed at The Double Tree in downtown Newark and thought we would give this place a try. The price was a little more than what we usually pay but based on the website we we were happy to pay a little more.
Let's start with our room. It was ok, nothing over the top, squishy mattress and only one trash can in the whole room. Pipes sang to us when we were in the shower.
The indoor pool was gross. We were there first thing in the morning and there were no towels, the concrete around the pool hadn't been swept. A giant hairball and assorted wrappers on the ground. We went to the hot tub were there was no knob to turn on the tub and when we tried turning it without the knob, it still did nothing.
It claims to have a gorgeous garden but looks as though no o e has been taking care of the garden in awhile. Lamps were broken, weeds everywhere.
Restaurants, they claim they have 4. Really only one. We had dinner at the terrace were I had an overpriced steak and a few fingerling potatoes. No veggies, no salad. Our waitress gave us free dessert because it took forever to get to us and wasn't very good. There were only 2 other tables besides our plus a small wedding party with about a dozen people and only 2 waitstaff and one bartender.
Saturday we went to the cafe were there was hardly anything there to choose from besides fruit that looked overly squishy. No one working in that area, no coffee, juice, tea,etc. We followed the outdoor signs for the O & E taphouse and ended up walking around the building. No signs or sign of life anywhere.
So disappointed, we'll be staying at the Double Tree from now on.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Khburn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian black, General Manager at Cherry Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2020

Thank you for choosing the Cherry Valley Hotel on your recent visit. We strive to provide gracious, engaging and caring service and sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry for the issues that you encountered during your visit. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We will share your experience with our hotel leadership team and address and correct these unacceptable issues promptly. Thank you again for your feedback.
Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2020 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Upon checking in our room had an issue. We went to the front desk clerk and he immediately upgraded us and changed our room. When staying here it is worth the extra money to get an interior courtyard room. The lighting at night and the grounds are beautiful. We sat outside and strolled the grounds. Room and bathroom were very clean.
Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PhyllisJ563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian black, General Manager at Cherry Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2020

Thank you for staying at the Cherry Valley Hotel. We would also like to thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are so happy to hear you found the overall hotel and service to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you travel to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2020

Taking in to play the COVID-19 restrictions our 2 day visit was quite pleasant. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was made cramped by a very low ceiling. The bed was very comfortable. The lack of meal service during the day was problematic The hotel tried to compensate with a pick up pantry. The choices were limited to wraps, fruit, trail mix, granola bars.... due to the times we acquiesced. Our 2 dinners were way above expectation. Although a limited menu, there were enough choices along with nightly specials to enjoy new Diversity in our meals. Julie our server and Sarah our bartender were exceptional. I feel the property gave us enough early information via emails and there website to comprehend their COVID-restrictions in dining, limited room maintenance, no valet etc. I look forward to returning when the hotel is in full operation.

Room tip: Overlook the gazebo and pond.
Date of stay: June 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smitherwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian black, General Manager at Cherry Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2020

Thank you for staying at the Cherry Valley hotel. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to provide gracious, engaging and caring service and sincerely appreciate your feedback. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We thank you for staying at the Cherry Valley Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews