We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$157
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
Expedia.com
US$157
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
FindHotel
US$157
US$138
View deal
SAVE US$19
Hotels.comUS$157
PricelineUS$157
Agoda.comUS$138
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
270
37
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
270
37
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews town square sitting room cookies comfortable beds granola complimentary breakfast front desk staff place to stay lobby mount tile ohio university furnishings teas fountain sink
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2020 via mobile

We had booked a hotel but due to a covid alert we decided to move on down the road. We found this place online. What a beautiful clean hotel! Not far out of our way and so worth the drive. Cute town and very friendly staff!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank WSkivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Goldner, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mount Vernon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We are delighted you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2020 via mobile

My wife and I wanted to take a short trip for our anniversary. We had never been to Mount Vernon prior to this trip, but this will not be our last. This hotel is a gem! Outstanding service from the moment we called to book our room, til the time we left. Our room, and the entire hotel was extremely clean and the hostess was helpful in recommending a local restaurant. We cannot wait to come back for another visit.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank iampatsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren O, Sales at The Mount Vernon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2020

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a wonderful review. We are happy we could provide a wonderful experience for your anniversary. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in Mount Vernon. We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2020 via mobile

While planning a place to stay to attend a friend’s wedding in Howard, OH, this hotel caught my attention. Located only one hour from Columbus airport, my stay here was wonderful, from the moment you pull into the quaint town square it is located,with its glittering light fountain and small park setting, the location is perfect. Walking through it’s doors adorned with Tiffany-like stained glass, you step into the luxury of a bygone era and right up to a friendly front desk staff. The lobby has a couple of beautiful Victorian period furnished parlors where you can sit and chat leisurely, or just sit quietly and read. Despite having to remove many of the hotel room amenities such as toiletries, coffee K-pods, and other items you usually will find in a hotel room, in order to keep things sanitized due to COVID-19, the staff were extremely helpful in providing these items as requested. Every corner of this hotel is beautifully decorated with period pieces and a beautiful sweeping staircase going to a downstairs area, graces the lobby. The room I stayed in was simple but elegant with dark wood headboards and furnishings, super comfortable bed and pillows and every modern convenience you can ask for, USB ports for charging electronics next to the bedside tables, and a writing desk also with charging ports, Keurig coffee makers, large screen TV, hair dryer and iron with ironing board. The bathroom was exquisitely decorated with beautiful tile work reminiscent of Victorian tile work with a spacious shower area and large, rain shower head for a modern touch. Again this was such a great find in Central Ohio, the town is quaint with many shops and small eating places to choose from. I cannot say enough about the staff’s friendliness, and above and beyond attitude in providing a comfortable, care-free stay. I would highly recommend staying here even if just to get away for a few days and find relaxation among the beautiful rolling farmland of Central Ohio only 20 minutes away.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Madre_Bonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Goldner, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mount Vernon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2020

Thank you so much for providing such a glowing review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and would love for you to stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020

This hotel was everything we could have imagined and more. Luke at the desk was so accommodating. There were issues with the thermostat and he upgraded us to new room. The bed was so comfortable, and the facility was just very clean and welcoming. The breakfast had amazing choices. Will definitely choose this hotel when coming back to town.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank carad535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Goldner, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mount Vernon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Thank you for taking the time to provide a wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2020

This will be one of our shorter reviews. And, in this case, that’s a good thing. The Mount Vernon Grand Hotel, operated by the Mount Vernon Nazarene University, was reconstructed several years back. As such, it successfully combines a touch of traditional elegance with modern conveniences.

Our room overlooking Mount Vernon’s Public Square was spacious and comfortable. Furniture was traditional, but all functioned as needed. Where the hotel excelled was on the small touches. The front desk clerk warmly greeted us, and took the time to point out everything: elevators, coffee, cookies, parking, breakfast, etc. Every other staff member we encountered was equally upbeat.

Breakfast is included with the stay. While the fare is similar to most intermediate-grade hotels (breads, eggs, meat, potatoes), The Grand did each just a bit better, avoiding the look and taste of industrial fare. The “egg patties” tasted like real eggs, and the potatoes were amply enhanced with rosemary. Oh, and excellent coffee!

The small touches were also noted with the amenities; such as the Aveda toiletries and Caribou coffee pods in the room.

Seriously, the only negative we could cite would be the choice of tile in the entry/sink/toilet/shower areas, the pattern of which gives off a dirty look. We’re calling that a matter of our own taste, and absolutely recommend staying at The Mount Vernon Grand Hotel.

Room tip: Easy walking distance to shops and eateries.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Atreides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGHFD, Front Office Manager at The Mount Vernon Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a thorough, concise, and glowing review. We are elated that you found everything to be "Grand" and we would love to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews