We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 07:00 - 23:00
Save
Review Highlights
Nice area

Fun. I just wish more things were open year-round. It was fun going up the tower and the view... read more

Reviewed 28 February 2021
slpsomm
,
Dover, Ohio
Fun walk with the dogs

Lots to see here - industrial ruins, beautiful terraced landscapes with hidden ponds, lakes with... read more

Reviewed 11 October 2020
jloug
,
Columbus
via mobile
Read all 117 reviews
  
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
87
26
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
87
26
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smoke stack observation tower industrial site nice area worth the climb walk around great event glass making amazing place entire area bike trail great place to visit nice walk fishing factory ruins lakes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2019

Climb the Tower just to see the view. See the sculptures and the use of the buildings for some great pictures. The Lake is so peaceful.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank JLOandSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2019

This is a now a lovely park that pays homage to its industrial past. Other communities should take note.
The only drawback is that there needs to be an interpretive center with gift shop that is open during the day.
Overall, though, this is a new park that will no doubt improve over the years. The River of Glass is beautiful, and hopefully there will be more similar "rivers" added to the park in the future. The tower is a long climb, but the view is well worth it.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank anitamV2020DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2019

A lovely and interesting outdoor space created on the ruins of an old glassworks. Climb the observation tower on the old smoke stack for an incredible view of the park and the town of Mt. Vernon.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Ronna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2019

We weren't sure what to expect. We had to figure out just where to enter & where to park. Sidewalks meander around different buildings and past the unusual broken glass "stream" that is out in the open. It's tempting for children to put their hands in it. There were a couple small lakes we looked for and found they were quite a distance from the tower. So we drove a little farther to find them. Peaceful in that area, with some picnic tables scattered about. We had to dodge a lot of goose droppings when walking around.
Don't go on a hot day.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank dueeast49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2019

If you live in the area or are just passing through. This park is a MUST see. I live close so I visit frequently. We kayak and fish in the lakes. Climb the tower for a beautiful view of Mount Vernon, Ohio. It is just a beautiful piece of land right in the middle of our lovely city.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank lovenothate71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews