We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burgers, fries and milkshakes”
Review of Southside Diner

Southside Diner
Ranked #2 of 63 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 September 2020

We've been coming here for a decade for the best burgers, fries and milkshakes anywhere. In fact, we always compare the milkshakes here to any others we have. The kids always say, there aren't any as good as R and M's.

The wait staff has come and gone through the years. Some have been super friendly and one was rather rude, but we always are glad we stopped.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Exploringontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2020

We live close to Southside diner and have been going there for years. Was there yesterday for supper and one of the managers (Dave) was very rude and got smart with me. If this was the first time that has happened I might not think much of it but another manager (Ron) also got smart with me several months back as I was paying the bill (before Covid 19). We stopped going for about 6 months to the restaurant . After they opened back up we thought we would try again .Well need less to say that will be the last time this restaurant gets a dime of my money. Customer Services Stinks

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank U7802XHbarbarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2020

Visited our kid at Kenyon College and ducked into Southside for breakfast. Great atmosphere - the old collectibles and friendly vibe. Food was good! Large portions and tastiness.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank PW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020

This place is one of the best places to eat breakfast. Their service has always been good and the food is terrific. Only downfall is the place is always packed!

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank TheWorldTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2020

I love the diners one of few places you get that old timey atmosphere. The food here is great. Service is wonderful and the cooks are right there where you can see them. I got the roasted pork and kraut it was great.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blackrun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southside Diner also viewed

 
Mount Vernon, OH
Mount Vernon, OH
 

Been to Southside Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.