We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hometown Favorite”
Review of La Paloma

La Paloma
Ranked #17 of 63 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 October 2019

In the middle of Ohio it is hard to find good Mexican food. The food here is not entirely authentic mexican but it is a really good take on northern mexican cuisine and then suited for mid westerners (who generally do not eat spicy food). The sopapillas are amazing. They are a fluffy dough stuffed with meat, beans, and cheese (or however you order them). The value for the portion is also phenomenal.

The owners are also fantastic people. They work hard and provide a clean dining experience and good service.

There are places that are a bit more authentic Mexican but they don't have the sopapillas!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cursingmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2019

La Paloma, has great service and authentic Mexican food. I have never had a bad meal. Ron and Teresa the owns are so pleasant

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank ebeth1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Our first visit to Mount Vernon with our soon-to-be Kenyon freshman - happy to have found this good Mexican restaurant! We were immediately seated by a friendly young woman, given chips and salsa (both very good) and several menu suggestions. She said that sopapillas we’re the most popular item, and know I see why! I always thought sopapillas were fried tortilla chips with cinnamon and sugar. These were definitely entrees: a light, flaky dough was filled with combinations of chicken, ground beef, refried beans and cheese, folded over and fried, then topped with shredded lettuce and diced tomatoes. They were surprisingly light and not greasy.
We’d definitely return to this delicious, family-owned restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Mom529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

La Paloma provides a tasty meal at a reasonable price. We love the sopapillas; they come in four sizes to accommodate your appetite and price-point. The food is fresh and tasty. The staff is friendly, quick and courteous.

My wife and I visited with our 6YO son. He is into Lunchables - so no cost for him. The wife and I both had regular-size sopapillas. She had water. I had Mountain Dew. Cost without tip was just over $22.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thomp1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

They really good food. You can get all you can eat tacos. They only have hard tacos for the all you can eat.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nmyrda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Paloma also viewed

 

Been to La Paloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.