We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Improve your service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sichuan Bistro

Sichuan Bistro
Ranked #37 of 149 Restaurants in Mason
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mason, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Improve your service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

I would give five stars for the food but one for the service. Our first visit was at a busy weekend time, so it was excusable. However, there was no excuse at the second visit as there were only two families at the restaurant. As we entered, there was no greeting but a blunt question " how many? " Later, when we asked for extra rice, it seemed like they did not like it. It was very obvious that the entire staff was talking in Chinese about us. Nobody came once to ask if we needed anything or how was the food? If they have to stay in the business in this competitive market then they have to improve their service and manners!!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SAS1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    21
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Sichuan bistro is a genuine Chinese restaurant. Always crowded, lots of Chinese natives, and a very nice lunch menu, as well as a comprehensive traditional chinese menu. I eat there very frequently and also get takeout. Lunch prices are reasonable, and dinner prices as well. The Lomein chicken is the best I have ever had, and the spicy sizzling chicken is so authentic, that i have never seen this dish outside of China. The service is good - not extraordinarly friendly because they work so fast and they are trying to get your food served as fast as humanly possible that there is no time for chit chat or hesitation. The restaurant is a classic and I hope to go there often.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobbertOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I took my boys to eat here based on the reviews. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent and spicy. Service was slow but worth the wait.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Sichuan cuisine in Cincinnati”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Probably the only choice of Sichuan style food. No comparison.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JWU_CRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
139 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delightfully interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I thought Chinese just so so until we went here. Wow! Do the authentic menu. Recommend Mala Chicken (spicy) and Shrimp w/ rice cakes ( sweet-n- sour, not spicy ... Kids favorite). Now I'm hooked. wow.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyB789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sichuan Bistro also viewed

 
Mason, Warren County
 

Been to Sichuan Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing