We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Island Retreat”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kelleys Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Water's Edge Retreat Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Island Retreat”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We just came back from our yearly vacation at Water's Edge. This was the 12th year that we have been there. Beth and Tim are super hosts and create the best breakfast anywhere.
The B&B is comfortable and inviting. My favorite time is after dark, sitting in the front room with a fire in the fireplace looking out on the lights on the lake.
We've thought about trying other B&Bs but would likely be dissapointed as we can't imagine a better experience than Water's Edge on Kelleys Island!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onesamurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    17
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
145
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This is a great place to relax. Beth and Tim provide a level of hospitality that can't be matched and make you feel right at home. My wife and I have visited 2 times within the past 3 months just to relax. The bad thing about Water's Edge Retreat is that everywhere I stay I hold them to the same standards of service that Beth and Tim provide and so far no one has reach the bar of Water's Edge. Thanks Beth and Tim for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
190 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Water's Edge Retreat is the perfect place to relax and escape. It is owned by Tim and Beth Hermes, who are two of the warmest and most welcoming hosts we have met. The property is right on the shore of Lake Erie, with a large wraparound porch and a sitting area on the beach. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the breakfasts are sumptuous and show imagination. Coffee is ready before breakfast, and evenings bring wine and cheese. Chocolates are out for later in the evening. Bicycles are available for touring the island, and if you wish, you can rent a golf cart or enjoy a massage or a sailing trip. Water's Edge has everything you could want in a B&B...and more!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful. We stayed on the third floor in the front room, which has views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob77ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My husband and I decided to have our wedding on the porch at Water's Edge Retreat and it was the best day anyone could ask for. Timothy, one of the owners actually married us. He and his wife are the sweetest! We absolutely loved the house and the rooms, the food was awesome and the staff was amazing! We are looking forward to returning next year for our anniversary!! It's a great little place off the beaten path on cozy Kelley's Island. Next time we plan to stay for a week!!!
Alex & Connie Sombaty

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing! The "honeymoon" suite was great! There is a nice little room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingwithsombaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Beth and Tim provide a WONDERFUL place for a quiet retreat. We loved the sailing, and loved our rooms. The rooms are beautiful!! We enjoyed the golf cart--think we might have to have one!! Thanks for a great time of refreshment and renewal!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelleys Island
11.1 km away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
13.1 km away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
12.5 km away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
22.3 km away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
12.6 km away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Water's Edge Retreat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Water's Edge Retreat Resort

Property: A Water's Edge Retreat Resort
Address: 827 E. Lakeshore Drive, P.O. Box 839, Kelleys Island, OH 43438
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Kelleys Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kelleys Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why Drive or Fly a thousand miles to enjoy an ocean when we have a Fresh Water Ocean on the North Coast of Ohio, Kelleys Island. Our Waterfront Luxury, Relaxing, Romantic Getaway. Great for Honeymoon, Anniversary or Special Occasion.Gourmet Breakfast Feast, Weddings too! Rated "Best of the Best" by Travel & Leisure (Great Lakes)Three Diamond Award AAA, Featured on NBC's Today Show with Al Roker and Peter Greenburg. Rates run from $199 (off season) to $369 for Honeymoon (High Season)Includes full Gourmet Breakfast Buffet, Sangria Hour with snacks at 4:15, Bicycles each day, Artery Clogging Chocolates in the Foyer in the evening. Access to our Two Large Beach Decks with Rockers, and our Garden Hot Tub Spa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing