We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
93
2
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
2
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anniversary suite chez francois b and b lake erie beautiful pool entire house excellent hosts own bathroom gazebo area each room has its own relaxing weekend yacht club first floor felt like home very nice place to stay nancy ohio
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Captain Montague's is a really beautiful B&B. We had a wonderfully relaxing weekend in the Anniversary Suite, which is so comfortable due to its lovely decor and luxurious bathroom. Nancy is so welcoming, and she is a really good cook. Our breakfasts were super tasty on both mornings. The pecan French toast was our favorite bite. The location is perfect for exploring Huron and Vermillion, as well as the wineries in the area. The beach is in walking distance, as is the Huron lighthouse. If you like Victorian homes, this is the right place for you! It has been meticulously cared for, and Nancy's standards for cleanliness and decor are excellent.

Room tip: The Anniversary Suite is spacious and it has an amazing bathroom!
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alilodd80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The Captain Montague Inn is a hidden gem. The small villiage of Huron is a quaint, rural, undistinguished little hamlet. If you are looking for a quiet, serene place to rest a few days, Captain Montague is for you. It is close to the lake and within an easy drive of nice restaurants. Nancy prepares a delicious breakfast, and keeps the inn sparkling. You can't go wrong with this stop.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jlgs72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We can't say enough about our stay at Captain Montague's! Nancy and Bruce are such warm and welcoming hosts. The property is beautiful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Each room has its own special charm and they are all beautifully decorated. The breakfasts were very good, we especially enjoyed the cranberry muffins. We will definitely be staying there the next time we are in the area.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Nancy and Bruce run a first class establishment. We stayed in the Anniversary Suite...crisp, ironed linens and a spa type bath made our stay feel more like a Ritz type experience and far exceeded our expectations.

The breakfasts served were multi-coursed and varied day-to-day. Yummy egg and veggie casserole and delicious sausage one day and a stuffed berry brioche the next with thick cut bacon as the main courses. Special requests were also honored for religious or dietary requirements.

Nancy likes to appear relaxed but never stops until all guests were happy. Bruce is quiet but makes sure the coffee is always brewing.

All the guests during our July 4th stay visited Chez Francois as this is about a 15 minute ride (Uber available). I heard not a single complaint from a group that expects the very best.

There is a good three mile walk/run opportunity out to the Huron lighthouse and back. A great way to make room for breakfast.

Make sure to bring some libation and sit on the rocking chairs on the side porch. The cooling breeze and quaint neighborhood will make you forget city life for a moment.

We plan on returning next summer.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NOTL21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We have stayed @ Captain Montague's numerous times. Nancy are Bruce and family have become our Ohio family. When you stay here your are treated like family. The B&B is VERY nice. The breakfasts are top quality. The area is fun to explore. We just want to say Thanks to Nancy & Bruce. You guys are by far the best. I look forward to many memories @ the B&B.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mcgeenmcgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews