We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
7
26
25
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
26
25
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stay there again off street parking bed was comfortable reasonable price spa
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Basic room, a little tired but comfortable. Room 23 had view onto roofs of other buildings. Was a little noisy until about 9pm due to door overlooking restaurant. Sound of Ulverstone coastal train at 7:30 in the morning. Helpful service from staff. Off street parking convenient. Could not get wifi to accept password. Restaurant was convenient and quite good. Breakfast was available.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodstone2015, Guest Relations Manager at Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for reviewing - we greatly appreciate the rating and the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

Had my birthday party dinner at the Lighthouse Hotel in Ulverstone with a party of more than 20 people. The meals were average to substandard. Missing elements, in correct cooking and in general nothing to be proud of. Floor manager came to table announcing the doors will be locked a t 10pm and we would have to leave only by the front entrance. All in all a shabby affair. Late I found out why the meals were so poor, no chef is employed on Monday and Tuesday nights. The cooking is left up to the junior kitchen staff. Even if there is a large party booked this does not motivate management to properly cater for them. Another case of “just do not care”. Bar system is in efficient taking for ever to get drinks. Never again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BRENTON J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodstone2015, Guest Relations Manager at Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Hi Brenton, we are very sorry to hear of your disappointment in your meals. Our Food Services Manager would be happy to discuss with you the issues as the staff on that night don't recall any complaints so we would love to get more information on the meals in question. I would like to dispel however the misinformation provided to you that we have no chef on Tuesday nights as this is not correct. Naturally our Head Chef does not work seven nights but we have other chefs who work these evenings as well as senior cooks. Our junior staff do not work service periods unsupervised. Our bistro closes at 8pm most nights and the venue closes at 10pm Sunday through Wednesday nights which we do have advertised so I am sorry you were not aware of this when planning your evening. As said, we would love to talk further in relation to the issues with the meals as we do aim to provide good bistro meals. If you would be happy for our Food Service Manager to contact you please email us your details on enquiries@goodstone.com.au and we will get in touch asap. Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night here, the pub bistro was full of families, a play area for kids. The room was basic and comfortable, loved the peach coloured bed linen. It is centrally located. We went and had meal at the fish and chips down at the docks, just to get out to look around. Judging by the numbers in the bistro, the food must’ve been okay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here at the last moment but I was pleasantly surprised by the high level of customer service provided by the staff.
The meals are very good and bar staff are attentive.
Definitely worth considering if you are visiting Ulverstone.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodstone2015, Guest Relations Manager at Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thanks so much for the review David - so glad you were well looked after. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Stayed in the spa suite. Was very roomy and spacious. Bed was comfortable. Room was very clean. Spa large and filled quickly. Was a bit annoyed they did not provide individual soap. Just has a dispenser on the wall with liquid soap/shampoo. A bit of noise from the room next door when they used their shower. Overall very good for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodstone2015, Guest Relations Manager at Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for the review. We will take the comments re the soap on board. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews