We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing retreat in perfect setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Rocky Hills Retreat early morning light
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rocky Hills Retreat early morning light
Huon Pine bath looking to Maria Island A luxurious king size bed in the Tasmanian bush
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Rocky Hills Retreat early morning light
Huon Pine bath looking to Maria Island
A luxurious king size bed in the Tasmanian bush
Big feather topped couches at Rocky Hills Retreat
A beautiful bathroom
Entry to the Art Studio Rocky Hills Retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Swansea, Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joe S
1 review
“Relaxing retreat in perfect setting”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This was the first stop on our honeymoon and a real highlight! Great views in a surprisingly secluded location and a very enjoyable place to relax. The facilities were excellent and the pantry/larder was well stocked, allowing us to make the most of our stay. We wish we'd stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, the bath, breakfast, pillow selection, design of the building, art studio.
Liked least: The eye masks were necessary to block out light in the morning.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2016
Dear Joe, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Rocky Hills Retreat! We are so pleased to have been able to make the first chapter of your honeymoon such a wonderful delight! He hope you've had a wonderful time on the rest of your honeymoon journey and congratulations to you both! Best wishes, -Amanda, Avalon Retreats.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittenkor...
Mooloolaba
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Relaxing escape from it all..”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This was our first time at Rocky Retreat and we loved it! It is so peaceful and relaxing. You are literally in the middle of nowhere in Tasmanian bushland at its finest. The only noises are those from nature. It's luxurious and comfortable, private and beautiful. It has everything you need so that you don't have to leave whilst staying. Plus you get your own art studio - a beautiful converted church. What more could you want? We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy, solitude and views
Liked least: Rocky road up to property could be made smoother
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Dear Kittenkore, Thank you for your lovely review of Rocky Hills Retreat! We're so pleased that you loved the bush location and luxurious little details that always add up to make for an extra special experience! It sounds like you've loved every minute of your East Coast adventure! Again, thank you for taking the time to write these lovely words, we will always look forward to welcoming you back to Avalon Retreats. Very best wishes -P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Romantic Ecstasy”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The most perfect romantic hideaway at what is extraordinary value for Australian accommodation.
if you want a resort style pampering stay away. if you want to pamper each other in luxurious and discrete surrounds then it doesn't get much better.
We stayed a blissful 3 nights and wished it was forever. This place is magical, and your relationship will be ecstatically better for having stayed here.
Very efficient service from Anne, high quality provisions, Swansea nearby to restock if needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The library collection
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you Peter - what a wonderful review. We hope the magic and warmth of Rocky Hills Retreat stays with you in a special part of your heart and memories for a long time - but do come back soon!

warmest wishes, Peta
Avalon Retreats booking office
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing- everything was fantastic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Rocky Hills Retreat! We're so pleased that you loved every detail of your stay and were also able to also do some sightseeing around Freycinet National Park - it really is a stunning part of the world. We love hearing that we got all the little details right and that the property to enabled you to truly and relax and unwind! We would love to welcome you back again very soon. Best wishes -P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The architecture
Liked least: The long rocky driveway
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review Neil. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope the experience stays with you and draws you back to our 'bush hideaway' in Tasmania again before too long. Or, maybe to one of our other Retreats - all such individual experiences!

Warmest wishes, Peta
Avalon Retreats booking office
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing