We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$213
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Swansea Motor Inn(Swansea)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swansea Cottages & Motel Suites(Swansea)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$65
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
523
115
9
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
523
115
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaked porridgedoggy bagbircher muesligreat hostsmorning teafabulous breakfastcooked breakfastfresh fruithome madememorable stayattention to detailcomplimentary portlocal areab and bgreat place to staycakeson arrival
Filter
Updating list...
541 - 546 of 653 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My husband and I as well as our best friends stayed at this beautiful B & B for a total of 4 nights. Everything about our stay was fantastic. On arrival we were shown to our rooms, which were delightful and we just loved the old style furniture and bed linen. Our rooms were really spacious with an amazing spa bath/shower and tea/coffee making facilities also a plate of complimentary homemade cakes and a decanter of port which we all thought was a really friendly gesture.

Well the breakfasts, what can I say, they were' brilliant', the best breakfast's we had ever had anywhere and between the four of us, that is really saying something. My favourite was the "Baked Porridge' it was so tasty and the 'super juice'. Our husband's totally indulged in the homemade croissants, apple strudel cake and warm fresh muffins, while my best friend and I indulged in the hot breakfasts with beautiful mushrooms. All the comments about the breakfasts are true, you don't need to eat for hours after, and we are all missing Meredith House terribly and the breakfasts.

One of the highlights of our stay was spending a chilly afternoon in the sitting room listening to the beautiful classical music in the background, sipping on some port by the warm fireplace. We felt like we were actually living back in time, we felt privileged to be sitting on the beautiful antique chairs.

Noel and Neil's cute little dog Lulu was so adorable, she was never allowed in the breakfast room and was mainly kept out in the back room, but we all fell in love with her and wanted to take her home.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here, we are all most definately going back to visit the boys again on our next visit to Tasmania.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your fantastic review, we really enjoyed meeting you all and having you stay, we're so glad you enjoyed it and hope to be able to welcome you gain one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We arrived after dark but the owners were waiting along with their little fluffy white dog. It felt like we were being welcomed home. We were shown up to our room and shown all the little quirks and where things were. Now that was impressive! The room itself was really nice with tea/coffee making facilities, muffins and a small decanter of port which was a lovely touch - OH and the port was nice.

The decor in the house was really lovely and gave an olde worlde charm. The sitting room downstairs was really pretty and lit by heaps of lamps. It was so peaceful and lovely and again, there was port for a small drink before bed.

The breakfast the next morning was delicious. There was a huge amount of variety with a large table in the middle that you could pick whatever you wanted from. The hot breakfast was cooked to order and service was really quick. The hot breakfast was really good.

Neil and Noel were both there when we left and chatted about everything really easily. Both fascinating people and Tasmania is so lucky that they made it their home. Would definitely stay there again. This is a perfect romantic escape for locals as well.

Room Tip: Our room was delightful and inside the house. We would like to stay in the Mews next time to see what they are like.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazziD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macneal, Manager at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your positive review of our accommodation; it is very gratifying to receive such positive feedback; we truly value these responses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Lovely b&b in a small town on the way to freycinet. Great spot to reach Hobart , freycinet and launceston. Stayed In a mews room. Good size , nice furnishings, easy place to stay for a few nights. After a long walk in the park the spa bath was very welcome. As others have said the breakfasts are great, lovely attention to detail and very appreciative of the gluten free options specially supplied. would definitely go back for a weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seawall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your great review, we certainly try to accommodate all of our guests needs as best we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed at Meredith House over Easter and when shown the room, we were a little disappointed. Our room was small and a little outdated, reminiscent of B&B's in England. I know everyone raves about the breakfast but I thought it was average and made even less so when one of the hosts and some guests decided to pat the dog then go about breakfast touching the communal things without washing their hands. There is however an amazing restaurant down the road called The Banc. The food there was sensational!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for taking time to submit your review; we are sorry that our B and B did not live up to your expectations. One of our rooms is smaller than the others, and for that reason is a room that we only let out during busy times such as Easter; or if we have to accommodate people who have booked late or have been sent to us from another B & B which has overbooked; which I think was the reason in this case. We are a heritage property so we cannot do much to alter the size of the rooms. Rather than 'outdated' , we feel that Meredith House is what it is, heritage accommodation furnished in a décor that suits the age and style of the property. We have added modern facilities such as en-suite bathrooms, free broadband and wifi access, and LCD TV's, but in its décor we prefer to be true to the heritage of the building; most of our guests delight in this decision. Our breakfast simply isn't just 'average', and I think your comment about it is influenced by your disappointment with the room size. As for patting the dog, we would always wash our hands after doing so, but if you state that one of us didn't do so on this occasion then we apologise and have decided in future to keep our dog out of the way of guests until breakfast is well and truly over. Once again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My partner and I stayed here just before Christmas and were delighted with a room upgrade upon arrival. It was a very comfortable room with a huge spa bath! The rooms were very clean and were serviced everyday we were there. We really enjoyed the free wifi, the extensive local area information guide was a great help. The previous reviews got us very excited for the breakfast and it definitely lived up to expectation. Not only were the breakfasts extensive, but the added touches of homemade, warm muffins that had been made that morning was a lovely touch. There were plenty left over for us to eat throughout the day. Noel and Neal were delightful and just added to the whole experience - both went out of their way to offer any assistance. We stayed on a rainy few days and the added touch of an umbrella left at our door was nice and very thoughtful. You can tell they truly care about their establishment and those who stay there. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katemullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your positive review, we certainly try to make people feel welcome, and the added touches are what we would expect to find in any establishment we stayed at.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews