We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Coast Wilderness Railway
Open today: 08:00 - 16:30
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from West Coast Wilderness Railway tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience West Coast Wilderness Railway
from US$80.60
More Info
from US$135.60
More Info
from US$219.90
More Info
Reviews (1,118)
Filter reviews
1,083 results
Traveller rating
785
224
54
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
785
224
54
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dubbil barril gold panning steam engine heritage carriage high tea half day trip honey tasting king river train trip scones pan for gold glass of champagne premium carriage station stops train buff return trip wilderness railway
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 1,083 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had a lovely half day trip aboard the Wilderness Railway from Strahan, half way to Queenstown. Gorgeous scenery, wonderful, old, immaculate train carriage & train. Neither of us are train enthusiasts but this didn't stop us enjoying our time aboard. Staff were friendly & attentive to everyone's needs. We enjoyed the full service of the Wilderness carriage & the informative narration along the way about the history of the train & railway line. It was a wet day, but we were warm & dry. We expected a wet day given the area we were visiting. It made it even more beautiful.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank AustraliaSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

We are really glad to hear that the rain didn't dampen your journey on board. The views of the rainforest are spectacular in our cooler weather and we enjoy showing this to our visitors, just how green and scenic our area is after some rain. It's great to read that you enjoyed your time on board with us, thank you for joining us and for taking the time to leave us this positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The day of our afternoon train trip from Strahan was rainy and cold but the carriage kept us dry and warm.
Our carriage was full of adults only so it was quite peaceful and relaxing.
Katie was our guide for the day and was entertaining and knowledgable. Alyssa, our carriage guide was also very friendly and helpful.
The scenery was beautiful too

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Raddas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Your day on board sounded very enjoyable, this is great to hear! Thank you for the positive review of your afternoon spent with us. We are glad you were toasty and warm inside the carriage but hope you were also able to sight see at the station stops and take part in the activities there as well. Thank you again for joining us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We travelled with two friends and did the return trip to Strahan. We travelled in a Wilderness carriage and the service was excellent and the food and drink plentiful. The carriage is very nicely presented but leg room is limited and the seats not comfortable enough for such a long trip(8 hours in duration).
Scenery is spectacular at times and much of a muchness at others.
The return trip covers the same scenery obviously and for this reason we would recommend doing the return trip by coach. We found the trip far too long and tiring.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank johnbY9035QL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony B, General Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your review of what I presume was the full day Queenstown Explorer from Strahan to Queenstown return in our Wilderness carriage. We are pleased to hear you found the service excellent and food & drink plentiful, we were sorry to hear you found the seats uncomfortable with limited leg room as we haven't received this feedback prior, but will take it onboard. The railway previously had a one way trip by diesel and steam train and then bus back, however the feedback from this was not at all positive and a decision was made a few years ago to not continue with this. We do offer a half day experience from both Strahan and Queenstown that is only 4 hours duration and we are continually working on improving the product and experience to provide a little more on the return trip, although this is a work in progress.

We trust you enjoyed your time on the West Coast, had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you back to experience some of the changes that come from feedback such as yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

did the 1/2 day out/back from Queenstown - booked this last minute and soo glad I did. wouldn't call myself a train/motor enthusiast, but really enjoyed the experience (steam train lovers would be in heaven). The carriages are very well appointed and the hosts were fantastic and entertaining. I paid for the upgraded package - and why not- bubbles and morning tea really heightened the journey. [slightly pricey but most 'adventure' touristy stuff seems to be in Tassie]
I was traveling solo and was seated with a fun trio. The shared adventure and 1st class hosts brought us all together for a fun day out.
There's a fun mix of history along the way and stunning wilderness views along the trail.
the Café next door to the station is also a must in Queenstown - seemed to the only upgraded venue in town.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Tashola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are thrilled that you made the decision to join us on board and were able to grab a seat at the last minute. Seating with booths of four can sometimes be a little tricky, therefore we love hearing feedback that our guests made new friends in the carriages and got to enjoy their journey with new faces. It's also really great to read that you enjoyed your meal and service from Tracks Cafe. Thank you again for joining us, it was a pleasure having you on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This was a very expensive train ride in which we had to endure almost 4 hours of screaming and crying toddlers. Perhaps more thought needs to be given as to seating allocation. We enjoyed the scenery and stories that were told but found it very difficult to hear the commentary. Timing of the 4 hour tour also may need to be changed as it was dark when we got back and many of the toddlers were obviously over tired. A very expensive trip for our family and one that we were greatly relieved to leave!

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony B, General Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We wish to acknowledge your review of West Coast Wilderness Railway. We like to think of it more than just a train ride as the railway is the only one of its kind operating in the southern hemisphere with 120 year old steam loco's, operating in some of the most inhospitable yet spectacular environment in Australia with a team of experienced and knowledgeable employees that keep it operating 365 days a year. The safety and security of our guests is paramount, and we ensure the highest maintenance standards are achieved, including checking the track daily prior to every train to remove fallen trees or rocks that can impede the train and the guest experience, all at a cost. Unfortunately operation of the railway is not cheap with insurance alone costing over $680K. While we like to believe our family tickets for two adults and two children is competitively priced at $245 for our half day experience, this is subjective and sorry to hear you believe the price is expensive for what we provide. I acknowledge your comment on the commentary and we are working on this to improve the experience. Unfortunately seating is difficult as we don't know which families have well behaved children and it is out of our hands to control children, we are hopeful that parents would consider the comfort of other guests, which generally happens, yet is always a potential to happen when travelling during school holiday periods, however it is not regular. With the change in daylight savings it does get darker earlier, we planned to have a new carriage on the rails weeks ago that has external lighting to provide a more unique experience on the return, it will be on the rails in the next week.

We always appreciate the feedback whether good or bad as we continually work to improve the experience and value every guests feedback as it only assists us to makes the product and experience better, allowing us to receive the recognition we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews