We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing alternate way to spend the day. Well worthwhile”

West Coast Wilderness Railway
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Strahan
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Step back in time, reliving the history as you climb aboard a majestic steam train. Indulge in local produce, watch the modern day workings of the locomotives, stroll through the rainforest, or simply relax and enjoy the motion of the train. The West Coast Wilderness Railway experience has something to offer everyone. With a range of full day and half day steam train experiences, departing from both Queenstown Station and the historic harbourside Regatta Point Station in Strahan, there is a journey to suit everyone. Discover the enchanting Gondwana rainforest - still home to the ancient Huon pine - from the comfort of your carriage, or the many opportunities to disembark at the outlying stations and explore at your own pace. Book today and let us welcome you onboard.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Great views and interesting history. Our hosts were very informative and helpful. Very sad to see what yesteryear mining has done to the waterways up the river. Comfortable in the old trains and you can get up and walk around a little while travelling if you wish. Could be difficult for some getting on and off the train.

Thank Cathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you very much for your positive review and feedback. We enjoy telling these historic stories to our visitors on board along the way and answering their questions. The rivers were devastated by mining in the area and are now slowly but surely making a great comeback, they are looking much better today and will continue to improve. We do try to make entering and exiting the train as easy as possible for all our guests, with only a small step from the carriages to the platforms, we hope this wasn't an issue for you. It's great to read that you enjoyed your journey on board with us, it was a pleasure having you join us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"dubbil barril"
in 110 reviews
"gold panning"
in 82 reviews
"steam engine"
in 52 reviews
"heritage carriage"
in 46 reviews
"high tea"
in 43 reviews
"half day trip"
in 32 reviews
"king river"
in 61 reviews
"honey tasting"
in 33 reviews
"scones"
in 40 reviews
"train trip"
in 41 reviews
"pan for gold"
in 22 reviews
"glass of champagne"
in 21 reviews
"station stops"
in 18 reviews
"train buff"
in 15 reviews
"soup"
in 23 reviews
"return trip"
in 44 reviews
"wilderness railway"
in 33 reviews
Filter

62 - 66 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had a lovely half day trip aboard the Wilderness Railway from Strahan, half way to Queenstown. Gorgeous scenery, wonderful, old, immaculate train carriage & train. Neither of us are train enthusiasts but this didn't stop us enjoying our time aboard. Staff were friendly & attentive to everyone's needs. We enjoyed the full service of the Wilderness carriage & the informative narration along the way about the history of the train & railway line. It was a wet day, but we were warm & dry. We expected a wet day given the area we were visiting. It made it even more beautiful.

Thank AustraliaSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

We are really glad to hear that the rain didn't dampen your journey on board. The views of the rainforest are spectacular in our cooler weather and we enjoy showing this to our visitors, just how green and scenic our area is after some rain. It's great to read that you enjoyed your time on board with us, thank you for joining us and for taking the time to leave us this positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The day of our afternoon train trip from Strahan was rainy and cold but the carriage kept us dry and warm.
Our carriage was full of adults only so it was quite peaceful and relaxing.
Katie was our guide for the day and was entertaining and knowledgable. Alyssa, our carriage guide was also very friendly and helpful.
The scenery was beautiful too

Thank Raddas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Your day on board sounded very enjoyable, this is great to hear! Thank you for the positive review of your afternoon spent with us. We are glad you were toasty and warm inside the carriage but hope you were also able to sight see at the station stops and take part in the activities there as well. Thank you again for joining us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We travelled with two friends and did the return trip to Strahan. We travelled in a Wilderness carriage and the service was excellent and the food and drink plentiful. The carriage is very nicely presented but leg room is limited and the seats not comfortable enough for such a long trip(8 hours in duration).
Scenery is spectacular at times and much of a muchness at others.
The return trip covers the same scenery obviously and for this reason we would recommend doing the return trip by coach. We found the trip far too long and tiring.

1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony B, General Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your review of what I presume was the full day Queenstown Explorer from Strahan to Queenstown return in our Wilderness carriage. We are pleased to hear you found the service excellent and food & drink plentiful, we were sorry to hear you found the seats uncomfortable with limited leg room as we haven't received this feedback prior, but will take it onboard. The railway previously had a one way trip by diesel and steam train and then bus back, however the feedback from this was not at all positive and a decision was made a few years ago to not continue with this. We do offer a half day experience from both Strahan and Queenstown that is only 4 hours duration and we are continually working on improving the product and experience to provide a little more on the return trip, although this is a work in progress.

We trust you enjoyed your time on the West Coast, had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you back to experience some of the changes that come from feedback such as yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

did the 1/2 day out/back from Queenstown - booked this last minute and soo glad I did. wouldn't call myself a train/motor enthusiast, but really enjoyed the experience (steam train lovers would be in heaven). The carriages are very well appointed and the hosts were fantastic and entertaining. I paid for the upgraded package - and why not- bubbles and morning tea really heightened the journey. [slightly pricey but most 'adventure' touristy stuff seems to be in Tassie]
I was traveling solo and was seated with a fun trio. The shared adventure and 1st class hosts brought us all together for a fun day out.
There's a fun mix of history along the way and stunning wilderness views along the trail.
the Café next door to the station is also a must in Queenstown - seemed to the only upgraded venue in town.

Thank Tashola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are thrilled that you made the decision to join us on board and were able to grab a seat at the last minute. Seating with booths of four can sometimes be a little tricky, therefore we love hearing feedback that our guests made new friends in the carriages and got to enjoy their journey with new faces. It's also really great to read that you enjoyed your meal and service from Tracks Cafe. Thank you again for joining us, it was a pleasure having you on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Coast Wilderness Railway also viewed

 

Been to West Coast Wilderness Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing