We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience”

Bonnet Island Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
US$109.40*
and up
Bonnet Island Wildlife Cruise from Strahan
Ranked #9 of 18 things to do in Strahan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Bonnet Island Experience provides you with a sensitive and immersive guided tour to a thriving penguin colony on a small island on Tasmania’s west coast. Cruising from Strahan in the evening aboard MV Sophia, this is a boutique tour on which you’ll enjoy historical and natural interpretation, quality Tasmanian food and wine and close but respectful access to witness Little Penguins returning from their day at sea. It weaves scenery, wildlife and local yarns into one beautiful experience, enjoyed with a small group to the backdrop of sunset over the Southern Ocean.
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

Took a boat ride out with ten others to Bonnet Island tonight departing just on dusk. Skipper Paul guided us out through Hells Gates back to moor at Bonnet Island where we learnt some of the history of the area and the lives of lighthouse keepers. We returned to the boat for some drinks and lovely cheeses, fruits etc after which it was time to return to Bonnet Island to find the fairy penguins who nest on the island. Spotted several of fairy penguins and were able to observe them close up. A nice quick trip home in the capable hands of Paul whose charm, stories and personality made it a very memorable experience. Thoroughly recommend this trip.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Julesmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fairy penguins"
in 12 reviews
"small group"
in 9 reviews
"small boat"
in 7 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 12 reviews
"lighthouse keepers"
in 2 reviews
"great cheese"
in 2 reviews
"spectacular sunset"
in 2 reviews
"boat ride"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this trip"
in 2 reviews
"southern ocean"
in 3 reviews
"unique experience"
in 2 reviews
"rug"
in 8 reviews
"skipper"
in 13 reviews
"gate"
in 12 reviews
"hells"
in 21 reviews
"dusk"
in 4 reviews
"cruise"
in 13 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2018

The staff were heaps of fun and very knowledgeable. The boat is not huge (10-12 guests), so it is a more personal experience than most. Watching the sunset as we travelled to the Island was lovely. Our supper was very enjoyable and gave everyone time to get to know each other. Unfortunately there were very few penguins to be found on our night, which was a little disappointing. Very cold - so rug up.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

The trip was much more than just penguins.

Good guides, small boat, into the roaring 40s (it was calm so we could), unpretentious cheese and wine buffet, amazing stars.

Saw a dozen penguins. Felt a bit intrusive but they didnt seem bothered. They get visited a lot I guess an the torches were red not yellow.

Good experience. Recommend.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Char1ieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

The Bonnet Bay experience started with information on some of the more notable highlights in Strahan as we headed out to the island. Once out near the island we were taken out to Hells Gate and were given more information on the area, the early inhabitants and stories from the past. Arriving at the island we walked around the island and watched a beautiful sunset. Back at the boat we were offered a selection of beverages with great cheese and vegetable platters as we waited for the penguins to arrive. Back on the island each with a red light torch to help see the penguins we were free to roam and get up and close to the penguins. Such a great experience. Back on the boat hot chocolate all round as we made our way back to Strahan. Definitely a highlight of our west coast trip.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank E1372JGlisap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Host Suze and Skipper Paul made this a memorable experience for our family. Gazing at the spectacular sunset, learning about the indigenous people of the area, seeing the incredible engineering feats of past pioneers; travelling through the narrow Hells Gates to breathe in the fresh air of the southern ocean, hearing sorrowful tales of the lighthouse families and finally witnessing the fantastic fairy penguins in their homes was a highlight of our travels around Tasmania. Thoroughly worth it.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonnet Island Experience also viewed

 

Been to Bonnet Island Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing