We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Must”

Bonnet Island Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
US$73.04*
and up
Bonnet Island Wildlife Cruise from Strahan
Ranked #9 of 18 things to do in Strahan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bonnet Island Experience provides you with a sensitive and immersive guided tour to a thriving penguin colony on a small island on Tasmania’s west coast. Cruising from Strahan in the evening aboard MV Sophia, this is a boutique tour on which you’ll enjoy historical and natural interpretation, quality Tasmanian food and wine and close but respectful access to witness Little Penguins returning from their day at sea. It weaves scenery, wildlife and local yarns into one beautiful experience, enjoyed with a small group to the backdrop of sunset over the Southern Ocean.
Reviewed 12 January 2017

This was an absolute brilliant evening. We set off on a small boat out of the harbour towards Bonnett Island. Only 10 guests are allowed on this boutique cruise. Our guide was fantastic with lots of info about Strahan, Macquarue Harbor and Bonnett Island. Bonett Island has a working lighthouse plus at dusk penguins come ashore and head for their hatcheries. You get to se them up close. We also had a glass of wine and a cheese platter on the boat which is part of the cruise package. The total time of the cruise is two and a half hours. I would not hesitate to do it all again.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank Grumpyoldman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fairy penguins"
in 12 reviews
"small group"
in 9 reviews
"small boat"
in 7 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 12 reviews
"lighthouse keepers"
in 2 reviews
"great cheese"
in 2 reviews
"spectacular sunset"
in 2 reviews
"boat ride"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this trip"
in 2 reviews
"southern ocean"
in 3 reviews
"unique experience"
in 2 reviews
"rug"
in 8 reviews
"skipper"
in 13 reviews
"gate"
in 12 reviews
"hells"
in 21 reviews
"dusk"
in 4 reviews
"cruise"
in 13 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2016

It's my 1st visit to Strahan and I must say this trip is great introduction to the fun aspects of this lovely town. Trip was professionally conducted, fun and eye-opener (especially to see wild penguins). The naming of the cute little penguins liven up the trip and the finger food was excellent. The beautiful scenery along the cruise is already a nice bonus to the Bonnet Island experience.
Great eco-conscious with the red filtered torch a so as not spoil the penguins eyes sealed my respect for the company ethos... Awesome ! enjoy ..it's a lovely event.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank jensen_chua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I have to admit we had brilliant night for a cruise, but even so this activity is well worth the price. A high speed trip down the harbour to "Hell's Gates". We managed to get out the entrance to see the sunset over the Point Sorrel lighthouse. Then some local cheeses and wine before heading to Bonnet Island to see the penguins. Again we were lucky because it is breeding season and the chicks were out of their nests waiting for their parents to return. Supposed to be 2.5 hours but our tour took just over 3 hours. Knowledgeable and friendly staff.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Meet by the crew (Erroll and Curtis) who were friendly and informative. Thought the boat trip was lovely with interesting things pointed out along the way. The drinks and food were also really good. Had we not seen penguins this still would have been a lovely way to spend a few hours.

There were only 10 people on this trip so we got to see the gorgeous fairy penguins without having to share the experience with loads of other people. In fact I spent most of the time looking for the penguins with just my husband as although the island is small it's big enough for you not to be on top of other people.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank K_L_doyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

This tour was excellent and worth every penny. The crew and boat was great, enjoyable and interesting. And hurrah we saw lots of the gorgeous fairy penguins! We had a lucky night and got to see at least 10-20. Some hiding in their Burroughs, others coming out to inspect us. And the cheese platters and drinks were a nice touch as well. Great tour !!

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Kase87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonnet Island Experience also viewed

 

Been to Bonnet Island Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing