We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Bonnet Island Experience tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Strahan
from US$493.00
More Info
from US$98.60
More Info
from US$135.10
More Info
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
73
7
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
7
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fairy penguins small group small boat hot chocolate lighthouse keepers great cheese spectacular sunset boat ride highly recommend this trip southern ocean unique experience rug skipper gate hells dusk cruise
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I have to admit we had brilliant night for a cruise, but even so this activity is well worth the price. A high speed trip down the harbour to "Hell's Gates". We managed to get out the entrance to see the sunset over the Point Sorrel lighthouse. Then some local cheeses and wine before heading to Bonnet Island to see the penguins. Again we were lucky because it is breeding season and the chicks were out of their nests waiting for their parents to return. Supposed to be 2.5 hours but our tour took just over 3 hours. Knowledgeable and friendly staff.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Meet by the crew (Erroll and Curtis) who were friendly and informative. Thought the boat trip was lovely with interesting things pointed out along the way. The drinks and food were also really good. Had we not seen penguins this still would have been a lovely way to spend a few hours.

There were only 10 people on this trip so we got to see the gorgeous fairy penguins without having to share the experience with loads of other people. In fact I spent most of the time looking for the penguins with just my husband as although the island is small it's big enough for you not to be on top of other people.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank K_L_doyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

This tour was excellent and worth every penny. The crew and boat was great, enjoyable and interesting. And hurrah we saw lots of the gorgeous fairy penguins! We had a lucky night and got to see at least 10-20. Some hiding in their Burroughs, others coming out to inspect us. And the cheese platters and drinks were a nice touch as well. Great tour !!

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Kase87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

A quick boat trip to Bonnet Island near Hells Gate, the entrance to Macquarie Harbour, followed by a close encounter with some fairy penguins was a rare experience. Only 5 passengers on the boat then a glass of wine and some local cheeses..... WOW a must do.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Ivan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Arriving late in Strahan after a long rainy drive on Good Friday we were expecting our Bonnet Island Experience to be cancelled - however the weather was with us and it cleared just in time for a dusk departure. The team on the small boat was wonderful with Sam taking the time to help me adjust my camera to get some amazing night shots of the penguins as they came ashore.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Ashleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Bonnet Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Hi Ashleigh H

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Its great to read to you had an enjoyably experience. Lately we have been luck to have over 13 little penguins come back to their burrows and not be shy for the perfect photo opportunity.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews